International Scone Week

on

It’s International Scone Week. Did you know that? And what is an international scone? Maybe it’s a scone with Italian spaghetti sauce on it, or Chinese XO sauce, or Japanese wasabi sauce with a slice of raw tuna, or Korean kimchi, or curry sauce … All I can say to those international scones is β€œThanks, but gosh, no thanks.” I’ll stick with what I know.

My favourite scones are made from my friend Celia’s recipe: Lemonade Scones or 7-Up Scones as I like to call them. They’re ease, deliciously messy to make, marvellously moresome (that means you want to eat more than you know you should), and they freeze well – assuming that there’s any left to freeze at the end of the day.

I’m going to refer you to Celia’s blog for the recipe because her posts are always worth reading. Here’s the link to her recipe. http://figjamandlimecordial.com/2010/08/08/lemonade-scones/

Tell her that Misky sent you.

Oh. I nearly forgot the photos.

7UpScones1

7UpScones2

Total yummy. Give them a try, and happy International Scone Week!

18 Comments Add yours

  1. veggieval says:

    Thanks for this “proper” scone recipe, Misky. While in London this Summer, I swore that too many liberties were being taken with the satisfying, traditional scones I fell in love with decades before. This looks like what I remember. Tweeted and will bake! Best, Veggie Val

  2. putneyfarm says:

    Classic…when is international pie week? πŸ˜‰

    That said, the scones look good!

  3. ceciliag says:

    I love scones! c

  4. mydearbakes says:

    Wow, your bake looks so yummy! It’s awesome! =D

  5. Gerry Wilson says:

    An excuse to make scones! Lovely.

  6. fruit scones are the best although my partner wold say cheese – thanks for the link

  7. muddykinzer says:

    These look marvelous! I love scones, and these will be going on my “to try” list!

  8. Lemonade Scones!! Say what?? I’m going to have to make these!! And I didn’t know it was International Scone week.. I’d better hurry up!

    1. Misky says:

      Say what? Say totally DELISH! Pop over to Celia’s and get the recipe. πŸ˜€

  9. Misky, first cab off the rank! Hooray! I’ve baked some scones, but won’t get around to posting them for a while as we’re still busy with visitors! Thanks for the shout-out, and I’m so glad you like the recipe – your scones look amazing, mine are always quite “rustic”.. πŸ˜€

    1. Misky says:

      I froze all but 4. I’d eat them all otherwise! xx

    2. Misky says:

      Some of mine are also ‘rustic’ but I rearranged them on the tray before pointing the camera at them. I reckon it’s like poetic licence. πŸ™‚

  10. heidiannie says:

    Those look wonderful! I made them several times using Sprite and diet Mountain Dew. I’m going to try 7-Up next!

    1. Misky says:

      How was the result when you used a diet soft drink? Did they turn out the same? I’ve wanted to try that but wasn’t ready to risk the cream and flour on it. These are so chucked full of calories with the cream that I never bothered making them sugar-free, thinking that moderation was the best method when eating them. πŸ˜€

      1. heidiannie says:

        They were good.
        Not fantastic, but good.
        Everyone added butter and jam to their heart’s delight- so really the scone didn’t need any more sugar!

  11. chefconnie says:

    I guess I have to be making some scones tomorrow. Thanks for the inspiration.

  12. Joanna says:

    Scones up! Lovely baking Misk πŸ™‚

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.