Why I Love Waitrose

Last week I purchased a potted basil plant at Waitrose. A few days later, as the sun streamed through the kitchen window and warmed the plant, a cloud of gnats began to populate the air. And the windowsill. The fruit bowl. Flying and falling into mugs of tea and mugs of coffee and glasses of wine. I traced the source of this buggy-ness to Waitrose’s potted basil plant.

So, I sent them a public tweet on Twitter (@waitrose), and wrote that I didn’t want to spray my basil to kill the gnats, and wondered if they had a better solution from this problem.

Waitrose replied to my tweet the following morning. This is why I love Waitrose. Customer service. Customer service. Customer service. And apparently the public agrees with me because Waitrose was voted UK’s Number 1 favourite supermarket this year. And darned good fresh bread, too.

twitter_14feb17

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I love Waitrose too – and was so happy to be able to pop into one on my recent fast-as trip.. And I love that you can buy potted basil there – what a joy.. c

    1. Misky says:

      Indeed, and so many interesting things, but without the over-stocked shelves like other supermarkets. You never feel overwhelmed by what they offer.

  2. I miss my Waitrose. Wish they had branches in Greece!

    1. Misky says:

      I ‘ll have to take an EasyJet flight to London, and stock up while the Euro is strong against the British Pound!

      1. Will be in the UK soon, so may just do that!

  3. I love Waitrose too! So much so that when I travel to England I choose where I’ll stay by its proximity to Waitrose; oh, how I love to stroll those aisles…

    1. Misky says:

      Oh I so agree! We have a new one about 10-miles away, and I’m happy to drive that distance just to shop there.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

