We’re in the Blooming of It Now!

We’ve had good weather for coaxing the garden into growth. The alpines are flourishing, and all the new plants that we put in a few weeks ago are now well-established. We’ve even had a few days of warm rain, so no need for watering the garden. The strawberry plants have set blossoms, and although I haven’t seen any bees, they’ve obviously been around because the plants are already setting berries in massive amounts. Peder put the tomato plants into his very clever “Hozelock” self-watering-growbag-system, so hopefully the warm weather that the Met Office promises our way will spur them on happily.  The wild flower garden is just on the edge of bursting into bloom, and I think it will be gorgeous this summer. The cornflowers bloomed last week, but the ox-eye and daisies are at end of bud stage. All in all, this summer looks very promising. Here are a few photos of what’s happening in the garden this week. Each photo is ‘clickable’ so you can view it in full size.

p.s. just a note – these photos were all taken with my new iPhone. I cannot get over my surprise at the photo quality from a little phone!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. thesnowwoman says:

    Beautiful gardens! I just love the cornflower, one of my favourites. I think I will put some grow bags like that in my driveway where there is sun!

    1. Misky says:

      Those grow bags work so well for us, and I don’t think we’ve put tomato plants in the ground for years now. Good luck, and I hope it works well for you, Lori!

  2. Polly says:

    It all looks fabulous, Misky. I’m still working on my new garden. I’ve cleared clematis and gained over a metre…removed a fish pond, the biggest in the world (!) and am now backfilling it with topsoil…one day I’ll put some photos up, but not yet, not yet 😀

    1. Misky says:

      It sounds like you’ve been very busy! Work-in-progress photos are quite fun, Polly.

      1. Polly says:

        OK, will do…:)

          1. Polly says:

            I found the photos, they’ll go up on Friday 🙂

            1. Misky says:

              I really look forward to seeing them. 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    Your garden seems to be very happy. I love the idea of the tomato grow bags…I don’t think I’ve ever seem them here. Such a good idea because if you get a diseased plant, the problem isn’t in the soil for next year’s crop, you just toss the bag.

    1. Misky says:

      Exactly, and you can place them in a sunny, warm position, too!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

