In My Kitchen, March 2016

This year is, so far, moving along at a quick clip. Here are two highlights of February from my kitchen.

chickenPie1

I bought two rather old versions of Mary Berry’s cookery books at Costco a few weeks ago. I suspect they’re seconds. The binding is slightly wonky, but never the mind — the recipes are wonderful. I made her Chicken, Leek and Mushroom pie last night. Put a ready-made puff pastry top on it rather than shortcrust. The one thing that her recipe didn’t say was to make sure the filling is completely cool before placing the pastry on it. If you don’t wait until it’s cool, the pastry will be soft as a wet hankie, and won’t rise properly in the oven.

This recipe is one that I’ll definitely do again, as it’s good way to use up leftovers. A recipe similar to Mary Berry’s is at SW Foodies blog.

I also made an Italian Herb Frittata from Mary’s cookery book. It turned out better than I expected. My husband said he was impressed. True, so was I.

herbFrittata1

If you’d like to join in the fun of In My Kitchen, pop over to The Organsic Chef, and leave a link to your blog post.

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Maureen | Orgasmic Chef says:

    I learned the hard way about puff pastry on a hot chicken pie. Yours looks wonderful and that frittata is definitely calling my name!

    1. Misky says:

      Funny how no one tells you about hot filling and a pastry top. I learned the hard way, too. Thanks, Maureen, for hosting IMK.

  2. What a great tip about the puffed pastry. I have leeks and a large package of mushrooms (from Costco) I will make this dish on Friday! Sound delightful!

    1. Misky says:

      It’s great comfort food!

  3. mae says:

    Mary Berry was totally new to me when I first watched the British Baking show, and I’ve never used her books. Your appealing creations make it look as if she’s worth follow up.

    best… mae at maefood.blogspot.com

    1. Misky says:

      She’s definitely worth a try. Her recipes are easy to follow, and I’ve never had one go wrong. 🙂

  4. thesnowwoman says:

    Both dishes look really good. The pastry looks lovely, very pretty!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks! I was rather pleased with the look of it. Sometimes chicken pie can turn out looking a dog’s dinner!

  5. Francesca says:

    That pie looks fabulous.

    1. Misky says:

      It *was*. 🙂

  6. Gretchen says:

    We had chicken pie twice in February using a recipe from The Clever Cookbook. At least Emilie warned me about letting the filling cool. Your frittata looks incredible.

  7. Thank you for that pie/pastry tip, great advice! Both those meals look delicious too!

    1. Misky says:

      It’s nice when a recipe works! Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment, Vicki. 🙂 >

  8. My Kitchen Stories says:

    Marry Berry is a classic and always has great recipes a lucky buy I would say. That is one great looking pie

    1. Misky says:

      I’ve yet to have one her recipes fail on me. 🙂 Thanks for the visit, Tania! >

  9. I think I just landed in pie heaven.

  10. laurasmess says:

    Your pie looks absolutely divine! I love puff pastry. This is my first visit to your blog as part of the IMK series (I just joined!) but you have a lovely warm space right here. I can’t wait to do a bit more reading xx

    1. Misky says:

      Welcome, Laura, and I hope that you enjoy what you see here.

  11. fergie51 says:

    Sorry, never heard of Mary Berry, I’ll have to Google! I do love the look of that pie and that is a great tip about waiting till cool before topping with the pastry. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      My pleasure, Fergie, and thanks for leaving me your comment.

  12. That pie looks amazing!!!!

    1. Misky says:

      It’s nice when something tastes as good as it looks, too!

  13. Karen says:

    Your chicken pie looks so nice, perfect when having friends over for dinner.

    1. Misky says:

      A nice casual supper!

      1. Karen says:

        That’s the way I like to entertain.

  14. sherry M says:

    yum yum i love chicken and mushroom pie – a match made in heaven really! isn’t mary berry wonderful, especially for her age? your dishes look great.

    1. Misky says:

      It was delicious, that’s for sure. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

