In My Kitchen, September 2015

on

Welcome to September, and another look at In My Kitchen!

It’s official. Last month was the wettest August on record in the UK. Ever. Ever! I’m not sure how long ‘ever’ is but I can empathise with its longevity because it seems like I’ve been making applesauce for-flipping-ever. I’ve turned the crop of two trees (Discovery variety) into applesauce, most of it to freeze, although we kept some to eat as dessert with a splash of vanilla cream.

picklingCucumbers_31Aug15

Recently, I’ve shared the kitchen with Peder. I do the applesauce thing in the morning, we do duelling elbows whilst making lunch together, and he does the pickling thing in the afternoon. His cucumbers (Danish ‘asier’ cucumbers) were late coming but there’s certainly an ample supply of them. Some he’s used for the traditional Danish asier, which is done by peeling, deseeding, salting 24-hours, then sitting in a vinegar solution for 24-hours, then heat up the vinegar again to a rolling boil, and pour it back over the cucumbers (with dill and mustard seed) for another 24-hour stint.

pickles_30Aug15s

He also made garlic dill pickle spears with homegrown chilli. My favourite. These don’t keep very long because they’re not ‘canned’ in a hot water bath. We keep them in the fridge, and I eat them like candy. I love pickles! It not a problem that they don’t keep long – they don’t last long…

tomatoes_31Aug15

The tomatoes are still setting on the vines, still ripening, and we’re still eating them with every meal. I’ve made pasta sauce to freeze, cream of tomato soup (again to freeze), marinated sliced tomatoes with onion, tomatoes with basil, tomatoes with mayo and black pepper, tomatoes on sourdough bread, tomatoes on toast with grilled cheddar, ratatouille, and a vegetable and tomato curry.

cosmosRhubard_31Aug15s

The flower borders are holding up well under the incessant rain. Cosmos are knocked down with each passing storm but they always re-erect themselves like troopers. Even the rhubarb is still vigorous and growing … and ripening.

So what’s happening in your kitchen? Join the fun of In My Kitchen by popping over to Celia’s Fig Jam & Lime Cordial

21 Comments Add yours

  1. We too have had more than than we can remember – enough already! It’s meant to be Spring here.
    Lovely bright colours in your kitchen.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      I do wish we were heading into spring now! We had such a cold and wet summer.

      >

  2. Ania @ Milk, Toast and Honey says:

    I wish I had Peder living near me – I love pickles too but cannot locate the right cumbers anywhere, even in the Polish shop. I have the need to make Swedish salad amongst few others. Love your garden and kitchen this month – and I am glad we did not go camping in Cornwall for the last two weeks of August. Enough with the rain!

    1. Misky says:

      We always grow our own from seed, Ania. It’s the only way to do it. And I agree about the rain, enough is enough!

      >

  3. Maggie says:

    All your fresh produce looks so lovely! I have to say, despite not being a big pickle person, those garlic and chili pickles sound lovely.

    1. Misky says:

      They’re very good. Fresh tasting. Love love love them!

      >

  4. Oh those pickles look good. Springtime in Sydney, yippee!

    1. Misky says:

      Autumn in England …. grump.grump.

      >

  5. lizzygoodthings says:

    Hmmm… was raining in the UK when we were there recently too… no wonder it’s so lovely and green xx

    1. Misky says:

      It does raining very well indeed. Sun, not so practised.

  6. Lovely post! I’ve had tomatoes this year but have been woefully neglectful with them so have barely had any fruit. Yours looks beautiful though and yes please to pickles!

    1. Misky says:

      I just picked another bowl of tomatoes this morning! 😀

  7. Francesca says:

    Pass those pickles this way- they look so tasty! I can understand why they wouldn’t last too long.

    1. Misky says:

      Grab a fork, and dig in!

  8. I adore pickles, and the best are homemade. They look so pretty too. Lovely IMK post.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Jennifer. Can’t wait to try the latest batch.

  9. Gretchen says:

    Our cucumbers did absolutely nothing this year. I’ve never had luck making pickles yet. I’ll have to look into Danish asier for next year.

  10. There’s nothing more satisfying and tasty than your own produce – I look forward to growing my own produce one day. I will try the garlic & chilli pickled cucumbers next time there’s an abundance from my sister’s veggie patch. See you next month for #IMK

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks for the visit, and see you next month!

  11. oh yum those pickles look marvellous. i would really hate all that rain. it is not my most fave thing at all:( it is a rainy day here today which is great cos we need it but i don’t like the grey skies.. i will have to try making those pickles myself..

    1. Misky says:

      Were enjoying one day of sun but just one. Rain for the weekend again.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

