In My Kitchen, August 2015

on

It’s August, and here’s a summary of what’s happening in my kitchen.

The tomatoes are ripening in the sun. The cherry tomatoes are weeks ahead of the Heritage variety, and if our summer was warmer, more sun and possibly less rain, I think our tomatoes and cucumbers would be further along. We are still waiting for the cucumbers to grow large enough to make asier, Danish pickles.

toms_28July15

This is a new addition to our favourite salad collection. It’s made from cherry tomatoes and barely blanched tender asparagus, and then tossed lightly in an oil and vinegar dressing.

cherryTomatoesAsparagas_1Aug15

And this is recipe produced a delicious chicken meal. A touch of balsamic vinegar finished tender chicken thighs. You’ll find the recipe at http://www.itv.com/ginositalianescape/recipes/pollo-allaceto-balsamico-chicken-with-pancetta-garlic-thyme-and-balsamic-vinegar

chickenThighsBalsamicVinegar

I made good use of our strawberries by cooking up some sugar-free strawberry jam using the microwave. My husband very much appreciated it. Diabetics like strawberry jam, too. Here’s the recipe

microwaveStrawberryJam

And that’s what’s happening in my kitchen this month! What’s happening in yours?

25 Comments Add yours

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you!

      >

  1. Jealous of your tomatoes, we are still in Winter and the only tomatoes and bland….bring on Summer!

    1. Misky says:

      Oh noooo. That means winter for me! LOL!

  2. EllaDee says:

    They say you eat with your eyes. The colours of your IMK post are amazing, the strawberry jam looks rich like crushed velvet.

    1. Misky says:

      The jam was surprisingly tasty! Thanks for the visit!

  3. What a beautifully vibrant and colourful instalment!
    Have a happy day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      And to you, too, Mandy!

  4. Anne Wheaton says:

    Our tomatoes are just starting too – what a joy! Love your photos.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Anne.

  5. Your sugar free strawberry jam caught my eye right away! Thanks for welcoming me into your kitchen also today!

    1. Misky says:

      My pleasure, Joanne, and thanks for stopping by!

  6. Kim Bultman says:

    Misky, your tomato and asparagus salad looks divine. (Thanks for the link to the chicken salad recipe, too!) Both will be on my menu this month. I love IMK for adding flavor and color to my kitchen! Again, thanks.

    1. Misky says:

      My pleasure, and thanks for reading this month’s offering!

  7. Glenda says:

    Misky, that is a lovely salad combination. I will have to remember it for summer.

    1. Misky says:

      Unusual but very tasty. I think you’ll like it.

  8. Ania @ Milk, Toast and Honey says:

    Misky, thank you for a colourful and vibrant post. I’ll be checking that Gino’s recipe too, thanks for sharing.

    1. Misky says:

      My pleasure. It’s a good recipe. Enjoy! >

  9. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    I am loving all the fresh tomatoes! Our plants are winding down for the season though, but I just planted more in the hopes of a second growing season this summer!

  10. Francesca says:

    Thanks for the delicious recipes, especially the sugar free jam- handy to know.

    1. Misky says:

      My pleasure!

  11. Thanks for tour of your kitchen full of the colours and bounty of summer.

    1. Misky says:

      I’m waiting for the apples to ripen now. 😀

  12. Cate says:

    It all looks absolutely delicious! Such beautiful photos, -Cate from IMK

  13. Cate says:

    all looks so delish! Such beautiful photos -Cate from IMK

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

