A Bit of Home Carpentry and Gardening

My Peder is a clever guy. He made these wooden planters, and now the front of the house is a burst of colour and scent. We saw something similar at the garden centre, and Peder said, “I can make those for a fraction of the price they’re asking.” And so he did. Lovely.

Then he made me a stand for growing lettuces and radishes, quick crops that slugs and snails love to eat before we ever have a chance to enjoy them ourselves. Now the lettuce is out of reach of the slugs and snails. Peder put a little plexiglass cover with hinges on the top to (1) keep the cats from using it as a litter box at night, and (2) to keep the heat in overnight. The radishes germinated in 3 days with the cover down. Now we lower the cover only at night.

I’m waiting for the poppies and wildflowers to go to seed so I can start collecting for next year. I usually broadcast the poppy seeds into the wind, and let nature have her with it all.

July is a lovely time in the garden. We’ve had enough rain to keep the flowers happy and growing, and the slugs and pests haven’t been too troublesome.

I hope you are enjoying your summer and that your garden is giving you wondrous pleasure this year.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. journalread says:

    Clever Peder indeed. Looking fab! Can I borrow him when I move house? 😉

    1. Misky says:

      Do you promise to return him when you’re finished? 😀

      >

      1. journalread says:

        When he’s made the planters! 😉

  2. Fabulous! Wish my Pete was home long enough between business trips to build me a few planters. Your garden is beautifully full of colour.
    Have a super day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      He has time; he’s retired!

  3. Ah So Yummy says:

    Wow! Wish I had a Peder! I priced those at Home Depot and they are over hundred dollars each and probably not as good as yours. They look amazing!

    1. Misky says:

      I think he’s found a new hobby!

      1. Ah So Yummy says:

        That’s a great hobby. With his talent and skills he could custom make everything.

  4. Ah So Yummy says:

    By the way love your flowers 🙂

  5. J9 says:

    Your Peder has been working hard! Look at all those planters! They are gorgeous.

    1. Misky says:

      I’ll be sure to tell him!

  6. Wanda says:

    My Husband keeps telling me that if he had plans he would build me a planter or two 🙂 ask Peder if he has any to share then there would be no excuses right!

    1. Misky says:

      I’m afraid his carpentry is like my cooking; no roadmap, just a wing and a prayer!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

