In My Kitchen, July 2015

In My Kitchen, July 2015

Homegrown strawberries
Homegrown strawberries

In my kitchen this month is an over-abundance of homegrown strawberries. We planted out all of the runners last year, and now we’re running out of neighbours to unload strawberries on. One neighbour actually said, No, we don’t eat fruit. We’ve frozen so many that we’ve hardly any room for meat, never mind freezing bread! I think we’ll be more choosey about how many runners we plant out this autumn.

So, what’s happening in your kitchen? If you’d like to join in on In My Kitchen this month, just pop over Celia’s Fig Jam and Lime Cordial blog for details, and jump into kitchen fun.

Note: photo taken with my old iPhone 4S!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. thesnowwoman says:

    Oh I wish you were my neighbor!!

    1. Misky says:

      If you were, I’d be knocking on your door right now!

  2. How wonderful to have an over abundance of home grown strawberries. Fabulous.
    Have a super day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Mandy, and you, too!

  3. Strawberries are such a treat. They look so beautiful en masse too.

    1. Misky says:

      And so yummy with some milk and a tough of sugar, too.

  4. SeattleDee says:

    Trade you some of my “too much salmon” for some of your “too many strawberries”, maybe a joint picnic? Well, it sounds good until I think of the freight charges.

    1. Misky says:

      I could do with some good alder-smoked salmon!

  5. lizzygoodthings says:

    The strawberries look delicious! Very plump and flavoursome xxx

    1. Misky says:

      And they are delicious! The dog discovered today that they’re tasty also. Now I need to protect them from her appetite.

  6. Glenda says:

    Your strawberries look great. There is always a glut mid summer but in winter you dream of that summer glut. I have just pulled out all my tomato plants. The first time I have to go and buy tomatoes is going to break my heart. I am sure your strawberries will freeze well. Perfect for smoothies.

  7. Kirsty says:

    How lovely of you to share your bounty! Sounds like you have enough to run a stall at the markets! Cheers, Kirsty

    1. Misky says:

      Splendid idea!

  8. WOW! I love strawberries and can never seem to get enough of them! I wonder if someone near you has excess of what they have grown and perhaps you can swap?
    Thanks for this month’s kitchen view also!

    1. Misky says:

      People keep their gardens tidy around here, but no one seems to grow anything edible. Odd!

  9. glamorous glutton says:

    I grew alpine strawberries for about 3 years and took them out this year for the opposite reason. They seemed to take far too much space for the few fruit we got. How wonderful to have so many. How about making cordial? GG

    1. Misky says:

      Excellent idea. Do you have a recipe on your blog?

  10. i think it’s a rather lovely photo. and i am envious of all your strawbs! we can’t plant out anything due to rabid bush turkeys.:) at least you can make your own strawb vinegar and cordial and ice cream and ….

    1. Misky says:

      I must Google bush turkey. Sounds fascinating!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

