In My Kitchen and the Garden, too.

on

My cousin is a very talented craftsman. Woodturning, in particular. Last year I saw a website the most beautiful wooden biscuit cutter I’d ever seen. A few weeks ago while I visiting him, he handed me one that he made. By hand. Just for me. It is completely gorgeous. Made from mesquite wood. I made biscuits with it the other day, and they were as gorgeous has his handmade cutter. I can’t thank him enough. But I shall try. Thank you, Rick!

The garden is turning green. Chives are in ample supply, and I’m cutting them as fast as they grow back. Asparagus is in season again, so we’re eating it fresh. It’s very good for diabetics. Controls blood sugar levels. The tulips are almost (although darned slowly) ready to bloom, and Peder is threatening them with the bin if they don’t turn inside out and jump circles with glorious colour soon. The daffodils from last year are nearly all blind. The bin for those. Space is too precious to grow daffodils that don’t set blossoms. The rockery is beautiful as this time of the year. Blues and pinks in blankets of alpine coverage.

What’s happening in your garden this week? I’d love to hear from you.

30 Comments Add yours

  1. Anne Wheaton says:

    Fabulous biscuit cutter – I’d want to make biscuits every week just so I could feel the wood.

    1. Misky says:

      It feels so lovely in your hand. Love it!

      >

  2. narf77 says:

    That biscuit cutter is wonderful Misky. A handmade heirloom to pass on and while you have it, you can feel the craftsmanship of truly well-made utensils every time you use it. Gorgeousness personified and a perfect example of how to create something beautiful that has so many more benefits than mass produced plastic tat. Our garden is starting to slow down but the green things are thriving in this cooler weather. I have a good friend creating me a permaculture plan to redesign Sanctuary (my fully enclosed veggie garden) and we will be setting it all up over winter. Lots of water wicked garden beds to make the most of our short hot and very dry summer period and a very exciting year for growing it will be. Just put baby custard apple seedlings onto a heat pad as the weather turns a bit too cold for their happiness. Growing baby macadamia trees from seed and experimenting with just about everything. Garden alchemy is awesome fun and so very rewarding in so many ways 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      How exciting to grow macadamia trees! I’d love to hear more about that. 😀

      1. narf77 says:

        A friend, who has a macadamia nut farm on the Australian mainland, sent me some fresh nuts. You need nuts that are not older than 3 months old as they lose their viability. I planted out 12 and only 3 grew but then I noticed that there was another one sprouting yesterday so I now have 4. I know that they grow here as there is a lady over the river from us who has a productive tree. If you don’t try growing things you will never know if you can is my motto. I also grew walnuts, hazelnuts, chestnuts and some tropical fruit from seed. Now I just need to work out where to plant them and how to protect them from the native lawnmowers 😉

        1. Misky says:

          Aren’t shells of macadamia nuts tough as nails? Did you need to treat or soak them first?

          1. narf77 says:

            Nope, I just stuck them straight into potting mix and left them. I once grew some bunya nut pines from seed. It took them a year to germinate. I thought that they were defunct and asked Steve to throw them into the compost heap where he took a look at the seeds and realised that they were starting to germinate. You can’t hurry nature 😉

  3. Your biscuit cutter is magnificent and made with love – awesome!
    Have a super weekend.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, and you, too, Mandy!

  4. that is a glorious biscuit cutter. how special. love the photos of the herbs and flowers.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Sherry. Yes, I agree it’s a treasure to hold.

  5. I can feel that biscuit cutter in my hand, what a joy to use a beutiful tool.

  6. J9 says:

    My daughter put her sunflower seedlings into her flower garden (that is currently a patch of dirt) this week. She is also growing alyssum and lavender from seed, but they are too small yet in their little peat pots. I believe she also started some kale and arugula seeds in peat pots, and cast poppy seeds directly. The governor of California recently announced mandatory water restrictions, so we are working out how to get grey water, like our clothes washing water, out into the various planting beds in the yard.

    1. Misky says:

      I think your use of grey water could be a useful topic for a blog. Have you thought of starting one on how to use and collect grey water? We occasionally have water restrictions here in SE England, so I’m well aware of the problems associated with gardening when water is scarce. It’s not easy!

  7. Ania @ Milk, Toast and Honey says:

    I love how tactile that biscuit cutter looks, it must feel amazing in your hand. Lucky!

    1. Misky says:

      I agree! Very lucky to have such a clever cousin. 🙂

  8. Lovely images of spring – I love your chives and asparagus! The biscuit cutter is also beautiful – can you wash it, or do you just let it dry out and dust off?

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Beck, I just wipe it off with a damp cloth. 😀

      1. Thanks, I always um and ah about how to treat wooden bits and pieces in the kitchen!

        1. Misky says:

          I generally don’t expose them to oceans of water. If it’s a cutting board, salt and lemon is good for sanitising.

          >

  9. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    What a gorgeous biscuit cutter! I absolutely love handmade wood products. I have a honey do list for my hubby, the next big item being a pantey cabinet. Your garden goodies looks wonderful as well. Our asparagus is coming up, though we never really get enough to do anything, just use as an accent. The herbs are coming in and tomato plants growing, all other seeds popping up. I love this time of year!

    1. Misky says:

      It sounds like you’re slightly ahead of us here in the UK. Still too early for tomato plants. Thanks for stopping by for a read and saying Hi!

  10. Jhuls says:

    Wow! Your cousin is so talented – the cutter is so beautiful.
    The ones from your garden are gorgeous, too. #InMyKiitchen

    1. Misky says:

      Yes he really is! 😄

  11. Misky, that cutter is a work of art! What a wonderful, treasured gift. I love hearing about your garden! Our asparagus didn’t oerform last year, hopefully they’ll be better this year!

    1. Misky says:

      I’m hoping that the strawberries blossom this year. New plants don’t like to cooperate! >

  12. Maggie says:

    That wood turned biscuit cutter is just beautiful. I took a wood turning course for one year in Ireland the year before I moved to Korea. It was so much fun and it’s one of those things I want to pick back up when I move home this summer. It was so hard quitting it to study to be an ESL teacher! Congrats to your cousin on such a beautiful piece and to you for receiving such a gorgeous biscuit cutter.

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Maggie. It will be an heirloom in this family, I think. 🙂

      1. Maggie says:

        You’re welcome. I can imagine that it will! A gorgeous forever keepsake.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

