Heston’s Perfect Roasted Potatoes

on

These are still the best roast potatoes ever!

The Chalk Hills Kitchen

How-To-Make Perfect Roasted Potatoes

My mum loved to burn potatoes. Well, that’s what I assumed. Turns out that she just burned potatoes. No love involved.

It’s like this, you see. My dad loved crispy fried potatoes, and true to form, my mum never quite knew when to stop. That makes sense when you have a few facts, like she didn’t learn to drive until she was 45, and until then she only stopped when she wanted to. Now she had to stop for red lights, stop signs, pedestrians crossing the street, squirrels, cats, dogs … stopping for potatoes was a brake too far.

Mum was cooking potatoes without benefit of Heston’s secret. I now know how to make roast potatoes that my dad would’ve loved. Fluffy inside, crispy, golden and crunchy outside. Heston uses 50:50 beef drippings and olive oil. The beef dripping’s not necessary; I used all olive oil…

View original post 643 more words

7 Comments Add yours

  1. thesnowwoman says:

    Hi Misky,
    I just thanked you for linking this over at the farmy, then saw this in my inbox. Too funny!
    Hope you had a good Easter.
    Cheers,
    Lori

    1. Misky says:

      A lovely Easter, thanks!

      1. thesnowwoman says:

        Hi Misky,
        I just nominated you for the one lovely blog award. A link to your site is on my blog post.

        1. Misky says:

          Thank you so very much, but I’ve already received this award. 🙂

  2. narf77 says:

    Misky, I think you just found an inroad to my deepest, darkest passion. Perfect roast potatoes are one of those things that can make me huddle over my plate protectively. Second only to my cups of tea, potatoes are my most favourite of food and amazingly well cooked hot chips (which Heston has also perfected to the max) and roasties are some of lifes most perfect things. I am drooling thinking about those roast spuds right now! Guess what I am going to cook with whatever Steve wants for tea tonight. “Yes Steve, you DID hear right…it’s pizza and roast spuds for dinner!” 😉

    1. Misky says:

      Hey there! I say WHY NOT pizza and roasties. Perfect. 😄

      >

      1. narf77 says:

        Now I am SERIOUSLY drooling and it is only lunch time! 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

