In My Kitchen, January 2015

on

Happy new year to you! Santa delivered my wish list to my sons this year. I was delighted.

imkJan315 (640x427)

I received the cast iron skillet that I’ve wanted for more years than I can count. A Lodge pan made in Tennessee that’s pre-seasoned. Even so I seasoned it again, and I’ve used it often. The first thing I made in it was sausages with shallot and red wine gravy from Nigel Slater’s Eat cookery book.

imkJan215 (640x427)

Then Santa saw to it that I received some Falcon enamelware roasting and pie pans. The white sort with the dark blue rim. I love them. And they wash-up so nicely, too.

imkJan115 (640x427)

And then had some Christmas money, so when Sainsbury’s had a sale on their copper pots and pans, I couldn’t resist. Owning a few copper pans has always been a dream of mine, and now I have two small gorgeous pans that are a perfect size for two portions. I had to use some of my loyalty points for them, too. But a half-price sale is hard to resist!

imkJan815 (427x640)

And we had the traditional Christmas goodies. Peder brought me a huge bouquet of white flowers. Disappointingly, they didn’t last very long – just 10-days. Does anyone know of any tricks to extend the life of cut flowers?

imkJan915 (427x640)

We also had lots of sugar-free candy, plus some lovely Swiss and Italian chocolates. And oranges, which is always a tradition in our house … something about their colour also reminds me of Christmas gold.

imkJan615 (427x640)

So that’s what’s happening my kitchen. What’s happening in yours? To join the fun pop over to Celia’s blog where In My Kitchen is hosted.

35 Comments Add yours

  1. lizzygoodthings says:

    Hi there Misky, happy new year lovely lady! You’re right, oranges are very festive… I guess there was a time when children were very fortunate to have an orange in the Christmas stocking. Love your enamelware… and the cast iron pan. Happy cooking!

    1. Misky says:

      And happy new year to you, Lizzy! When I was a child, an orange was a special treat in our stocking, and we still do that for Christmas morning. 🙂 I love traditions.

  2. PSC says:

    Beautiful cookware, Misk! I don’t cook (if I can help it) — but I DO admire the lovely stuff. And anytime you need a taste tester, just let me know! 😉

    1. Misky says:

      Hello! If you’re ever in town, just shout! :). We’ll have a lovely time.

  3. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Happy New Year! Seems you did well in the kitchen gift department. We also got a huge (14 inch I think) Lodge preseasoned cast iron skillet, small square skillet (great for a single fried egg or grilled cheese), Dutch oven and enamel pan. Lots of Lodge goodies I guess! Glad you like your skillet, we love all of our pans as well, so versatile.

    1. Misky says:

      I may have to start a collection like yours!!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Beautiful cookware… I have always wanted a few copper pots too… One day! The only thing I know about cut flowers is sugar in roses water and not too much water in gerberas as they drown 🙂 that’s for sharing! Liz xx

    1. Misky says:

      Sugar, eh? I’ll remember that. Thanks!

  5. Francesca says:

    I love all your new cookware :a great start to the year. It’s inspiring when you have gorgeous new things to use.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Francesca! My husband gets to play with them tonight. He’s cooking dinner! 😀

  6. fergie51 says:

    I reckon 10 days is pretty good going! I have heard aspirin in the water helps but haven’t tried it. Love the falcon ware and lodge pan. Can’t go wrong with them. Cheers.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Fergie, made a fish pie with the Falconware last night. Brilliant pans.

  7. pallyme54 says:

    I do love your purchases, Misky! I treated myself to a cast iron pan

  8. I do love your purchases, Misky! I treated myself to a cast iron pan for Christmas as well – and it is brilliant! I love your Christmas traditions – those oranges look gorgeous!

    1. Misky says:

      Happy new years, Marian! Don’t you just love new toys for the kitchen!?

  9. Anne Wheaton says:

    Lovely shiny new cookware – what a great Christmas treat. We too always have oranges at Christmas time not just for a healthy dose of vitamin C but because their colour lifts my spirits on a dark grey December day. I think 10 days is good going for your flowers too, considering they’ll have been air freighted over at this time of year.

    1. Misky says:

      Forgot about the airfreight nonsense, Anne. So true. Happy new year to you!

  10. What a great Christmas haul 🙂 Shiny new cookware with the promise of great meals to come. Happy new year Misky!

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, and a very happy new year to you, too!

      >

  11. Misky, this was my first time participating in the In My Kitchen hop! Glad I found you. Love your copper pots (I have none). Ten days is a very long time for fresh flowers to last. I don’t think there’s anything you can do to make them last longer than that.

    1. Misky says:

      Welcome, Jean, and I look forward to seeing your monthly In My Kitchen often. It’s great fun. As for the flowers, I think you’re right; I’m expecting too much of them. 😀

  12. My Kitchen Stories says:

    Oh no what are you going to wish for now that you have your beautiful skillet pie tins and copper?. How lucky are you?. Happy New Year

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Tania, No worries about future wish-lists. I’m already thinking up things!! Thanks for leaving me a comment, always appreciated. >

  13. What beautiful pots, love the shiny copper. I have some cast iron skillets I inherited from my mother and they are wonderful after many years of use. Happy New Year.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Liz, and thank you. I look forward to using them for many years to come. So much better than Teflon coating. 😀

  14. Kirsty says:

    Great looking cookware there Misky. Gotta love a sale too when buying ‘the good stuff’. I don’t think I’ve paid full price for any of my pots and pans!!
    Your Falcon enamelware has such a classic look.
    Cheers Kirsty

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Kirsty, and appreciate your leaving me a comment. Happy new year to you! >

  15. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky, I love it when Santa gets the message and delivers it on.

    1. Misky says:

      Thank goodness for email. LOL!

  16. margo roby says:

    Oooh! Pretty! I love the pie dishes.

    1. Misky says:

      They make a great fish pie, too!

      >

  17. I think 10 days is a long time for cut flowers! Yours were very beautiful Misky! We can never have enough new cookware – I’m a big fan of Falcon enamel, but less so of cast iron, even though I’ve read it’s really very good for our health to cook on it! And look at your gleaming copper pot! Just beautiful! Have a great 2015 dear friend! xxx

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Celia, and all my best wishes to you and your family. xx

  18. ladyredspecs says:

    While 10 days seems a pretty good life for cut flowers Misky, a florist taught me to buy from a source with a high turnover, trim the stems a little each day, give them fresh water each day and to add a little sugar to the water. I’m envious of pre seasoned cast iron, I’ve never seen that here, but I adore my cast iron cookware. Don’t you love it when santa is alert….

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you for the info on the flowers. I don’t often receive cut flowers but I’ll certainly remember your suggestion. 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

