In My Kitchen: November 2014

Every month, Celia at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial hosts the very popular “In My Kitchen”. Friends around the world join in to share a few items that make their kitchens fun and interesting. To join in the fun, pop over to Celia’s blog and follow what others say about their kitchens.

In My Kitchen this month is the return of hot, home-made soup. This is such an easy soup to throw together at the last minute. Chicken broth, a hint of tomato (either from a tin or freshly chopped or even from paste), sautéed chili peppers, onion and garlic, and a handful of cooked mini tortellini in each bowl. Spoon the broth over the pasta, your choice of filling but we like the spinach and cheese, and then garnish with freshly chopped chives, which are still growing like weeds in the garden. Bon appetite!

tortelliniSoup

And speaking of soup, In My Kitchen are Pepperidge Farm Gold Fish. What fun! I love a sunny-colour, smiling fishy cracker floating in my home-made creamy tomato soup. These are cheese flavoured. Great fun to see one floating in a bowl. Childhood memories…

PepperidgeFarmFish

And then here’s a real find that I’m really excited about. I haven’t seen this in our local supermarket for years. It’s magic. Truly. In My Kitchen is Anchovy Sauce! Add it to home-made salad dressing, perfect for fish pie as it kicks the flavour up a notch, brilliant on scrambled eggs, surprising in gravy and rich brown sauces. If you’ve never tried Anchovy Sauce, look for it in your supermarket. It’s very handy for adding flavour.

anchovySauce

And finally In My Kitchen is the proof that autumn is here. Clementine oranges are in the supermarket produce section again. I love them. No seeds, peel easily, tart and wonderful.

ClementineOranges

So that’s what’s in my kitchen this month. What’s in your kitchen?

31 Comments Add yours

  1. Francesca says:

    That soup is a brilliant idea for a quick meal. May play with this one. Love the look of the old fashioned anchovy sauce.

  2. G’day! Love your soup and love the lone cracker! Never heard of anchovy sauce, so thank you for your kitchen view also today!
    Cheers! Joanne

  3. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky, I have never seen Clementines in Perth. I made an Ottolenghi recipe recently that called for clementines and I had not idea what they were. Your simple soup is a good idea, though I will probably forget about it before next winter. I hope not. That anchovy sauce would be great in a Caesar salad dressing I bet.

  4. Kirsty says:

    Hi there Misky. That lone goldfish certainly looks smug having the bowl to himself. I bet his smile didn’t last long!! tee hee. What a good idea though for a soup cracker with some flavour, rather than crumbling in a Jatz.

  5. Oh anchovy sauce sounds great!

    1. Misky says:

      It’s brilliant for all sorts of things!

  6. My Kitchen Stories says:

    Great soups. They look delicious. I went to buy some citrus fruit today and it was unbelievably expensive …Summer

  7. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    I haven’t seen clementines yet but can’t wait, I just love them this time of year. Soup season has started at our home as well. I haven’t put goldfish in tomato soup for the boys yet, I imagine they would love that!

    1. Misky says:

      Bought a jumbo bag of them at Costco the other day. Sweet!

      >

  8. ladyredspecs says:

    Love your fish bowl soup, and the fish, a very clever idea!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks! Makes things fun.

  9. Love the anchovy sauce. Need to add it to the shopping list.

    1. Misky says:

      It’s very useful! Waitrose and Tesco. xx

      >

  10. I so have to look for that Anchovy Sauce when I am in Scotland. And I also love clementines, which we call ClemenGolds here 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I found it at Tesco, but Waitrose also stock it. xx

      >

  11. Karen says:

    It is definitely soup season here in New England. I haven’t bought any gold fish since our grandchildren came for a visit but they would definitely be great with tomato soup. 🙂

  12. Misky, I love your wee goldfish in its soup bowl! Your tortellini soup sounds perfect, particularly with just a hint of tomato as you say. And anchovy sauce? We’re already addicted to anchovies, so that would definitely have a place in our fridge! 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Its miraculous in salad dressing too!

  13. What a lovely couple of soups! I’ve heard of the goldfish crackers but never seen them – not sure if you can get them in Australia…
    I love anchovies, but have never seen the sauce, anchovy paste yes, but not sauce. Another yummy product to look out for 🙂
    Beck

  14. Kim Bultman says:

    Misky, your tortellini soup looks fabulous and the ‘sole goldfish garnish’ in your tomato soup is so playful and creative! Sometimes all it takes is ‘one bite’ to bring back nostalgic memories. Good stuff!

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Kim, and thanks for leaving me a comment. ☺️

  15. heidiannie says:

    Hey Misky- Love the soups and garnishes! I’m going to follow your example this very day and make that tortellini soup for dinner!

    1. Misky says:

      I hope you like it. It’s become a favourite around here. Hope you’re well!

  16. Lisa says:

    Hi Misky, I love that lone goldfish swimming in the tomato pond. I’m thinking it’s a fabulous way to get the toddler (heck, and me!) to devour soup. I’ve never thought to put tortellini in soup and now I wonder why not. I can’t wait for the weather to cool down again so I can test all of these fabulous idea out now! 🙂

  17. I’m loving that tomato tortellini soup, looks delicious! I don’t think I’ve seen anchovy sauce here in Melbourne, Australia, is it similar to Worcestershire sauce by any chance? Would love to try some if it’s different, may have to look in some UK stores here. Thank you for a look IMK, see you next month

    1. Misky says:

      It’s completely different; much thicker, and more salty than savoury. Worcestershire Sauce is watery in consistency, whereas anchovy sauce is thick like a gravy. >

  18. i have never heard of anchovy sauce before. sounds nteresting. and the goldfish cracker is so cute.

    1. Misky says:

      And the goldfish is yummy, too!

  19. Elizabeth says:

    It’s getting a bit hot here in Australia for soup, but it does look good 🙂 113 degrees Fahrenheit here today! That anchovy sauce looks fantastic and would indeed be very handy! Thanks for sharing! Liz x

    1. Misky says:

      Oh my! That’s very warm!

      On Sunday, 23 November 2014, The Chalk Hills Kitchen wrote:

      >

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

