Food Photography: Let There Be Light

The October food photography challenge is finished but I want to try a little experiment.

One of the food photography students suggested that this photo would benefit from a bit of ‘lightening up’. Now I don’t have fancy photo editing software. I use one of those free online ones, PicMonkey, plus a Google program that suits my purposes well enough. So I tried ‘lightening up’ the photo, and here’s what happened.

original photo untouched
original photo untouched
same photo lightened up
same photo lightened up

So the question is: Which one do you prefer? I know which one I prefer – how about you?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Polly says:

    The bottom one…I like the light.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks. There’s one for the light. 😉

  2. Anne Wheaton says:

    Because of the dark background, I prefer the first. Now, if it had been a white background then I’d have said the light.

    1. Misky says:

      We’re split down the middle it seems. My husband and Polly like the lighter version, you and I like the darker one. Funny, isn’t it. I hope someone comes along and breaks this tie! 😀

  3. My vote is for the lighter one. I’m a bit obsessed with light – maybe because I’m quite shortsighted? 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Celia! That’s Peder’s fav also!

  4. You’d think I would say the light, simply because the illumination of shading is lovely. But contrary old Sharp is gonna say dark, for the shadowing of the knife, etc. Also, those little dimples are highlighted, and i love that part of the rind! Amy

    1. Misky says:

      I wonder what this says about us, Amy. I like the dark shit for those reasons also. There must be some sort of psychology behind this…

  5. Karen says:

    Well…I’m going to confuse you more because I like both of them. The oranges seem to have more texture in the dark one but the board and towel are more noticeable in the light one. 😀

    1. Misky says:

      LOL! True true true.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

