Food Photography October Challenge

The Food Photography course is still on, but now it’s a monthly challenge. For October, the challenge is the colour orange. Three photos concentrating on the colour orange. I chose oranges. Not very original, I know, but I had a load of oranges in the house. And a vine strapped with cording to the fence groaning with grapes.

3orangesCollage

I have learned that lighting is everything. I took shots on cloudy days, shots on sunny days, shots under artificial lighting, with tripod and without … turns out early morning sunlight (but not sunshine) works best. At least I think so. I like the colours, the depth of colour, the contrast. Some of my fellow students (very politely) suggested that the contrast was too much on the photo of grapes and oranges. I very politely told them it was my favourite. I like contrast. I like ying and yangs that beg to bark.

Anyway….here are my three photos of orange stitched into a collage.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Polly says:

    Lovely photos, I especially like the one with the cut orange and grapes.

    1. Misky says:

      Aaah, thanks, Polly. I liked that one, too, although most of my fellow food snappers didn’t. It wasn’t subtle enough, they thought.

      1. Polly says:

        heh-heh…I don’t do subtle (!)

  2. Anne Wheaton says:

    Who wants subtle when you’re photographing orange? Love the orange and grapes – it positively zings.

    1. Misky says:

      Quite right, Anne! LOL!

      >

  3. Lury Budde says:

    I agree the contrast works great I love the colors and orange is one of my favorites. Your pictures are great would love to take your classes they look interesting.
    Lury

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks Lury! It’s great fun when photos turn out right. 😀

  4. Suzanne says:

    great shots – I love the warmth of the oranges.

  5. I hear what you are saying about the photo with the grapes and oranges, I like it too

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

