No Recipe Applesauce

Organic is not always pretty.

Organic is not always pretty. Late summer and organic equals freckled, spotted, worm-holed, wasp-stung, mouldy fruit and veg. That’s when it’s time to cut out the mucky bits of apples and make applesauce. I don’t use fruit that’s rotten or mouldy; we have enough from windfall and those still clinging to branches, so it’s unnecessary. I leave heavily damaged fruit to the wildlife and insects, most of whom seem drunk from the fermentation at this time of year.

foodMill_8sept14

Applesauce freezes well, so we have a good supply during the winter, a happy reminder of what summer tastes like. And best of all, applesauce requires NO recipe. If the apples are too starchy, I add water (small amounts at a time, ie., a spoonful) or old dry cider (which I freeze in ice cube trays). I have a foodmill, so I don’t bother peeling the apples. The peel adds a lovely warm colour to the applesauce. I cut out the mucky bits, core them, and then cube the apples into equal-size chunks. Toss the whole thing into a large stock pot (I make it in huge quantities at this time of the year), keep the heat at a low temperature, and stir when I remember to do so. Just don’t let the apples at the bottom of the pot stick and scorch. When the apples are cooked down and mushy, I spin the mass through the food mill, and chuck away the peel and remaining bits.

applesauce_8sept14

I sweeten after the apples are ‘milled’, adding as little as possible. I am cooking for a diabetic, so minimal added sugar. I use ‘half-sugar’ substitutes, if needed.

If you feel the need for a recipe, the No-Recipe recipe at Food52 is a good one to follow.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Love applesauce, and even more to cook it chunky… that makes for excellent desserts.. just wish we had an apple tree.. One reason to pick all apples is there is less risk of drunken wild-life.. Every year in Sweden it happens that drunken moose attack people.. sounds funnier than it is (so far I’ve been spared)

    1. Misky says:

      Not much risk of moose in West Sussex but a fruit-drunk rabbit or the occasional tipsy badger can be expected. 😉 Deer running across the road cause a lot damage every year, a few horrible auto accidents and fatalities. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment, Bjorn.

  2. I have been making applesauce in the crockpot…its so handy as you don’t need to watch the pot 🙂 love your apples!

    1. Misky says:

      That’s a good idea. No fussing about.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

