In My Kitchen: September 2014

It’s September, and autumn is rushing a blush through the trees. Orange and scarlet and lemon yellows, and chilled mornings where you question if a bit of heating might keep shivers away. I used to love this time of the year but not so much nowadays. Winter gloom doesn’t sit well with me, but if I can keep my kitchen interesting, maybe that will help carry me throughΒ the greys.

In my kitchen is my new favourite way to eat a soft boiled egg for breakfast: a small sliver of butter set on each half to melt while the egg is still hot.

day28a

In my kitchen is an electric knife sharpener, and I couldn’t be happier. It’s brilliant. Every knife in the house is sharp and honed and ready for use. It sharpens both my European and Japanese knives, which is rare for an electric knife sharpener.

knifesharp_IMK_sept14

In my kitchen are the benefits of homegrown. Lots of tomatoes. A bumper crop of chilli peppers. Vases of flowers from the garden.

In my kitchen is a sugar-free strawberry jam swiss roll. This one turned out very well. I rolled it while it was still hot, let it cool completely, and then unrolled it and spread the jam. Let the jam settle, and then rolled it back up. No cracks.

swissRoll_IMK9-14

In my kitchen is an ample supply of Korean kimchi to eat with our noodle soup. We love kimchi!

kimchi_IMK9-14

In my kitchen is a spicy plum cake, sugar-free and reduced fat, and it didn’t budge Peder’s blood-glucose levels an notch, so this is one cake that we can both enjoy without missing sugar.

plumcake_IMK_sept14

And finally, in my kitchen I have two new cookery books that I bought with my supermarket vouchers, plus my monthly Waitrose magazine filled with recipes.

cookbooks_IMK_sept14

And that’s it for this month! If you’d like to join in the In My Kitchen fun, just pop over to Celia’s Fig Jam and Lime Cordial blog for details.

36 Comments Add yours

  1. lizzygoodthings says:

    So much deliciousness in your kitchen, Misky… love the sound of Rick’s new cookbook! And that jam roll, wow!

    1. Misky says:

      We eat a lot of fish, so I’m reading Rick’s cookery book like a novel. I think he’s the best when it comes to fish. Tom’s book is based on his clients’ favourite food in his Michelin star pub. Complete yumminess.

      >

  2. Polly says:

    Oh! Lizzy’s said just what I was about to! Everything in your kitchen looks wonderful and as for that swiss roll… πŸ˜‰

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Polly! πŸ™‚

      >

  3. thehungrymum says:

    what stunning photos! So vibrant. I have soft boiled eggs for breaky a few times a week but have never tried them this way – thanks for the idea!

    1. Misky says:

      My pleasure Belle! Thanks for stopping by for a read.

      >

  4. I couldn’t help but notice how beautifully all of that food was photographed! Your egg looks perfect – I think I’ll have one your way tomorrow for breakfast.

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Siobhan! I have to credit a recent food photography course for the improvement in my images. I think you’ll love that little sliver of butter on your egg. It makes such an amazing difference!

      >

  5. Anne Wheaton says:

    What a beautifully perfect looking Swiss Roll and great photos πŸ™‚

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Anne. Such a lovely comment to receive. πŸ™‚

      >

  6. Sally says:

    I always have food envy when I step in your kitchen. Trying that simple egg thing – love an egg for breakfast.

    1. Misky says:

      Me, too, I love egg for breakfast.

      >

  7. Love the egg with butter….

    1. Misky says:

      It’s lovely.

      >

  8. What a perfect Swiss roll – I haven’t made or eaten one in the longest time.
    Your knife sharpener look great. I still use the method my grandfather taught me by sharpening a knife against another serrated knife. Works like a charm!
    Have a wonderful day.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Mandy! I’ve always used a sharpener rod, which worked well, but this sharpener is just brilliant. I’m so glad that I bought it! Thanks for stopping by for a read. xx

      >

  9. ladyredspecs says:

    Your Swiss roll is perfect Misky!

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Sandra. It was quite delicious, too. πŸ™‚

      >

  10. Francesca says:

    It is breakfast time as I read your lovely post and now I’m heading off to do some eggs- thanks for the reminder.

    1. Misky says:

      Bon appetite!

  11. that jelly roll is perfect! I’ve always wanted to make one…maybe this winter I’ll give it a try.

    1. Misky says:

      It looks all impressive and complicated but it really isn’t. πŸ™‚

      >

  12. Joanna says:

    your photos are beautiful! Wow! and your swiss roll looks simply perfect !!!!

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you! The Swiss roll was fun to make. xx

  13. Glenda says:

    Misky, your Swiss roll looks perfect – no wonder you took a photo.

  14. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    That strawberry roll is beautiful, as is the plum cake. The garden goodies look wonderful too, I am missing all the summer produce from our garden. At least the fall produce is slowly growing. No cool mornings here though, we are still roasty toasty hot and humid.

    1. Misky says:

      Autumn is truly on us now. Lots of thick fog this morning. And chilly, too! Thanks for stopping by for a read. Much appreciated. πŸ™‚

  15. wow the produce the eggs the books. and that jam roll. everything is gorgeous here Misky.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Sherry, but come winter things won’t look nearly so lovely. I promise!

  16. So impressed that you did that Swiss Roll with no cracks, it looks delicious! I have just boiled an egg to have it like you did with butter. Lovely photo’s too. Thanks for sharing

  17. Ngan R. says:

    Such a nice look into your kitchen, Misky. I am in a need of a serious knife sharpener, and yours is reminding me to get on it! Your abundant garden is lovely; so many lovely shades of red. Kimchi is a favorite of mine and adds such a fun flavor twist to dishes. But, the thing I love most about your post is that delicious sugar-free spicy plum cake. I don’t need to be sugar-free, but prefer it, and have been working on sugar-free or at least reduced sugar desserts for a while now. Your cake looks fantastic!

  18. G’day! The jam roll caught my eye too!
    Can one ever have too many cookbooks?
    Thanks for this month’s kitchen view as well!
    Cheers! Joanne

    1. Misky says:

      I love cookery book the way some people love shoes! Thanks for dropping for a read, Joanne.

  19. Misky, a swiss roll without cracks is a huge achievement! I’m glad the plum cake worked well for Peder too! Your homegrown produce is all so red and delicious and I’m going to try my eggs like that from now on too. Love Rick Stein! πŸ™‚

  20. I can’t believe you have Rick Stein’s new cookbook! I’m sure it’s absolutely brilliant! I just had an Evening & masterclass with Rick Stein (I’ll be posting about it over the weekend) he is just amazing isn’t he? I love how he lets the seafood speak for itself by adding flavours to enhance the natural taste! I’m also loving your chillies, I’m a bit jealous πŸ˜‰ Thank you for sharing IMK, nice meeting you

    1. Misky says:

      How completely wonderful to take a master class from Rick. I love his shows on telly.

      Thanks for stopping by for a read. πŸ™‚

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

