Food Photography, Day 15

We’re still playing with props today. And OH what fun! Napkins, tea towels, fabrics, anything that helps to tell the story of your photo. I made a plum and nut cake this afternoon, so I did the whole prop-up-the-cake thing using a tea towel. A casual toss into the corner of the worktop after removing the cake from the oven, and the result worked quite well. At least I think it did….

I was tempted to cut into this beauty, but I held my bottle as it was still too warm straight out of the oven. It does smell delicious though. The recipe is in this week’s Waitrose Weekend magazine.

A warm plum, cinnamon and nut cake.
A warm plum, cinnamon and nut cake.

Can you smell cinnamon, taste ripe, red plums? Naah, neither can I, but it’s pretty.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Quickly says:

    The cinnamon, almost. I don’t know how hot red plums smell. Chilled, they are like white grapes, a little. This is beautiful.

    1. Misky says:

      It smells like a warm breeze through an orchard.

  2. cecilia says:

    AHA! This is a wonderful shot, and a wonderful cake, beautiful light.. c

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, c. I made another yesterday with peaches but it wasn’t nearly as good. Too much juice in the peaches, I suspect. The cakey bit at the bottom didn’t rise as high as the plum version.

      1. cecilia says:

        I adore puddings with real plums in them!

        1. Misky says:

          I wonder if fresh raspberries would as well as plums for this recipe.

          1. cecilia says:

            I have a friend who makes a wonderful raspberry pie, her grandmothers recipe.. it should work.. c

            1. Misky says:

              Time for a bit of experimentation, I reckon. 🙂

              >

              1. cecilia says:

                I look forward to seeing the results.. c

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

