International Scones Week

on

I baked scones for International Scones Week. That’s not to say that I baked them during International Scones Week. Last week was manic; the scones had to wait for me to breathe. Sunday morning was calm enough for the occasion, so here’s my contribution to Celia’s annual event. Photos of the participants’ scones are at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial


Stevia is the sweetener rather than sugar, buttermilk with a splash of milk to slacken its thickness is the liquid, self-rising flour, salt, and cold cubed butter rubbed into the flour. I mixed the dough with a table knife, patted it to a 3cm floured flat disk, and then used the largest cutter I could find. If you’re going to eat a scone, I reckon you should eat a scone … not a dainty petit four with a drop of jam.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Polly says:

    They look wonderful…can I come to tea? 😉

  2. You are so kind to join in, I know how busy you’ve been! And your scones are beautiful!!

    1. Misky says:

      And they were very tasty!

  3. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Your scones look and sound delicious!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Lizzy. We do prefer the buttermilk version in this house. 🙂

  4. Claire says:

    What’s the secret to creating a great scone? I’ve never made one that seemed just right…

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Claire. No secret, really. Every cookery book will warn against overworking the dough. I just minimally mix the dough JUST to the point where it’s combined. No kneading or heavy rolling out.

  5. Anne Wheaton says:

    Your scones look delicious and you’re completely right about the size.

    1. Misky says:

      It’s nice to ‘feel’ as if you’ve eaten something! Thanks for leaving a comment, Anne.

  6. margo roby says:

    One of my all time favourite foods.

    1. Misky says:

      Along with bangers and mash and onion gravy!

      >

  7. Sent here by the scent wafting over at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial! Back for more exploration soon! Yum!
    Kathryn

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

