Food Photography, Day 10

We’re modifying light. Reflections. Diffusers. We’re even blocking light. I made a wonky reflector from heavy cardboard and foil, and it refused to stand up. This concept needs refinement. Structural integrity of sort. I will work on this during the weekend, and come up with something that does not require any investment beyond my time and imagination.

Light coming from the side, no reflector used.
Light coming from the side, no reflector used.

The three primary ways of mucking about with light are ‘reflectors’ and ‘diffusers’ and ‘blockers’. I didn’t have any mesh material to hand, so no diffusers were used for this lesson. I did make a reflector from a portion of cardboard box from the supermarket and a length of foil, but as I said, it required the steady hand of my husband to hold it in place. Not ideal – he’s not usually a willing participant in my whims. I coaxed him into it with promises of bangers and mash and onion gravy for supper. For the diffuser I shall hunt down an old white bedsheet to hang on the window. I have some. I just don’t know where I put them. For the light blocker I used the window blinds. Perfect. I could adjust them to permit whatever amount of light I wanted to enter the photo.

So, here are my three photos using the DIY foil reflector and my husband’s steady hand.

Light coming from the front with a reflector placed at the back.
Light coming from the front with a reflector placed at the back.

Can you see the little ant?

Light coming from the front again but the reflector as placed at the left-side of photo. I like the little twinkling bits of light in the water.
Light coming from the front again but the reflector as placed at the left-side of photo. I like the little twinkling bits of light in the water.

And the final shot of the series without water.

Light coming from the side and the reflector placed on the opposite side to bounce the light.
Light coming from the side and the reflector placed on the opposite side to bounce the light.

Tomorrow we do white balancing stuff. This should be interesting; I can hardly balance on a bicycle!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Polly says:

    All of the photos are a delight yet something draws me to the final apple one with the light bounced 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks for telling me your favourite, Polly. This light-bouncing stuff is really tricky, and I think I need much more practise.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

