Food Photography, Day 5

Photos from Day 5 of the food photography course that I’m taking. Lots of photos taken, but these two are the best of the lot.

Today’s Assignment: height and framing the subject of the photo. I use light and dark and shadows to serve as a frame on the first photo, which I think turned out rather interesting. My thinking is that ‘a frame’ needn’t be a physical structure – so I chased shadows in the kitchen for a framing effect. The second photo isn’t a favourite; it has the height but should have been taken closer to a 90-degree angle for better effect. I’ll work on that ‘angle’ thingy later. For the framing bit, I positioned the tomatoes over a horizontal line on my iPad cover. Again, a frame is a frame is a frame … right? Is it necessary that a frame always enclose its subject matter; can’t it also delineate as well?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Very interesting! Sounds like you are enjoying it.

    1. Misky says:

      It’s good fun!

      >

  2. I love the photographs and your idea about framing!

  3. Anne Wheaton says:

    How did you decide on which course to take? There are so many out there. Like the shadows.

    1. Misky says:

      I’ve always wanted to learn more about food photography, so the choice was easy. 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    I know you must be enjoying the course.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

