Food Photography Course, Day 3

I am taking a food photography course, and today’s assignment is choose a subject and photograph it from various angles and heights. Choose a few of your favourite shots, and study what makes them attractive. These are the ones I preferred. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s the positioning of the subject matter. What didn’t work was photographing the arrangement from directly above or at 90 degrees.

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Polly says:

    Fab…I’m told that food photography is one of the most difficult to get right – good luck 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Doubt I’ll ever get it right, Polly, but it’s fun to try. 🙂

  2. It is interesting to look at something from different angles; I’ll try this the next time I take a snap in the kitchen…

    1. Misky says:

      I took about 20 quick shots, walking around the arrangement and then at differing levels. Quite fun to see the result.

  3. cecilia says:

    Less is always best, love your simple back drop and what a perfect onion, I want to know everything your learn, i would love to do mine better, any learning is always good..c

    1. Misky says:

      I’m having trouble with today’s assignment. It should be a photo-story. Like how you do it but how to achieve that with a few bits of veg is taxing my poor old brain. Good morning, c!

      1. cecilia says:

        maybe you could take the vegetable and tell the story of its being cut up, and cooked, a shiny pot in the background, reflecting the partially cut up celery or onion, with the knife gleaming in the foreground? Was that the kind of thing you were thinking about? Or is it a story of big pumpkin and little pumpkin with hats on, in a red wagon off to the fair!? Do each of your works get critiqued by someone?

        1. Misky says:

          I like the idea of work-in-progress, like cut up veg or a salad. I’ll aim for that tonight when I prep all the veg. Yes, critique is the idea but mine haven’t received any yet … just lots of thumbs-up remarks.

          1. cecilia says:

            You must be doing well then.. also, think about where your light is coming from.. then reflect it back into the work with a white board just off camera. I look forward to tomorrows work. I love to shoot food, but am VERY impatient.. c

            1. Misky says:

              A white board … I have a plastic cutting board that’s white! Maybe that will work.

              1. cecilia says:

                that would be perfect..

          2. cecilia says:

            though i am sure you do not need any help from me, you are doing marvellously..

  4. Sally says:

    Where are you doing the course Cecilia? Some other food bloggers were looking for good ones in the UK.

    1. Misky says:

      It’s free and online, Sally. It’s called 30 days to better food photos at http://www.30daystobetterfoodphotos.com I think it runs several times a year, and it’s by subscription.

      >

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

