In My Kitchen: August 2014

It’s August already. The summer is slipping away before my eyes! But I have a new toy that will keep me busy for years and years to come. I finally have the stand-mixer that I always wanted! And the first thing that I did was feed Sedrick (my sourdough starter) and then make a whopper size loaf of mixed wheat-white bread. It was a lovely loaf, beautiful crumb and tangy flavour. I am happy. Really. Truly. It’s the mixer that I always wanted!

What’s in your kitchen this month? Anything cooking?

To join in the fun of What’s In My Kitchen, just pop over to Celia’s lovely and informative blog at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial on WordPress. You’ll find all the details of how and when to post what’s in your kitchen at  http://figjamandlimecordial.com/2014/08/01/in-my-kitchen-august-2014/

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Misky, hooray for new mixers! I love that yours is red and it’s good to know it has enough grunt to knead bread – I blew up a Kenwood years ago making brioche and have been a bit nervy about using them for bread ever since!

    1. Misky says:

      My old Kenwood has always struggled with a batch of sourdough, but the KitchenAid seems quite happy with the same amount of weight. Fingers crossed!

  2. Francesca says:

    A gorgeous mixer! Sedrick the sourdough starter has a nice poetic ring.

  3. Karen says:

    What a nice addition to your kitchen. I know you will enjoy your mixer for years to come.

    1. Misky says:

      My mother had hers for 30-years!

  4. fergie51 says:

    Love red in the kitchen! Interested to see how the mixer goes with continual use, looking around at the moment.

    1. Misky says:

      So far as good. No problems whatsoever. 🙂

  5. ladyredspecs says:

    Yay, a new toy! I could never survive without my Kenwood.

    1. Misky says:

      Kenwood is also very good!

  6. I hope you get a lot of bliss from your stand mixer – I just love mine 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      It’s lovely, and looks like a jewel sitting there. I made some rolls with yesterday – easy as can be.

  7. theintolerantchef says:

    Love the colour!

  8. Ha ha! You can tell you’re happy – the post just bubbles with enthusiasm (a lot like Sedrick, I expect). I won a KitcheAid hand mixer recently so it’s winging it’s way to me now. One day it may have a big sister stand mixer. Cheers!

  9. G’day! I love red appliances and congrats on your new gadget and look forward to what you make!
    Thanks also for this month’s kitchen view too!
    Cheers! Joanne

  10. Super jealous about your gorgeous mixer!
    Have a wonderful day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  11. Elizabeth says:

    I remember when I first got my Kitchen Aid… it was a wonderful feeling after waiting for it for 8 years! i use to even polish it so it was always bright and shinny on my bench! Now I feel that way about my Thermomix 🙂 so enjoy all the wonderful things you are going to make… I look forward to reading all about them 🙂 Liz x

  12. emily0830 says:

    Hi Misky! Congrats on the mixer, they really do make life so much easier. Love that you named the starter Sedrick, haha!

  13. love that red mixer.! a friend just bought an apple green one and she loves it.

    1. Misky says:

      It made a very nice plum cake the other day!

      >

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

