My Favourite Spatula Spoon

rubberSpatulas_14Feb14

Delia was the first person to mention the genius of this spoon. That was many years ago, and I’ve had one in my kitchen ever since. It scrapes the last bits from a pan or bowl, it’s moderately heat-proof, and it won’t deflate whipped egg whites or cream. I bought this one at Lakeland Plastics, which by the way is the only place I’ve found the genuine article. There are lots of knock-offs but this is the original design, and in my opinion, works best!

Do you have a favourite kitchen gadget that you wouldn’t want to be without?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky. I just love my Thermopen

  2. cecilia says:

    my mini whisk.. and the kitchen knife i have been carting about from country to country for years.. morning misky, I love a good spatula too!

  3. I have spatula spoons of a similar shape, but they’ve all worn out – the wooden handles have splintered away, and the silicon heads are cracking. I’ve struggled to find more – as you say, it’s the perfect spoon for all sorts of things. My big thing is that the handle has to be exactly the right length. Sigh. The quest continues.. 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I have to admit that the handle on mine is a fraction too short. How long is the handle on yours, Celia? I’ll keep my eyes open for you. 🙂

      >

  4. Misky I’ll have to post a pic of my spatula that I always use. I accidentally kept it in the bowl of the mixer and turned it on. the handle broke in half but I still use it, I seem to be rather attached!

    1. Misky says:

      I have a few kitchen tools like that, too. A cutting board that my husband nearly burnt to ashes because he left it too close to the gas burner! 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

