In My Kitchen: March 2014

chipotlePaste_8Feb14

I’m sure that I’m ridiculously late coming to the party on this one, but I’ve just discovered chipotle paste. It’s tantalisingly spicy: chilli with garlic, onion and tomato. It’s smooshed into a thick paste and comes in a wee cute little jar. I bought it for a spicy prawn and tomato sauce over pasta. We both lit up with grins when we tasted it. Lots of heat but not too much, and since it’s a paste rather than a whole chilli pepper,  you can add as little or as much as your nervous disposition allows. I am in love with this stuff. And I discovered that it’s equally brilliant in soups!

tomatoSoup_8Feb14

And that’s what’s in my kitchen this month, and I can’t say enough good things about it.

To join in the fun of Celia’s In My Kitchen feature, just pop over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial, post a link back to your own Kitchen post, and say hello!

17 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve always meant to try Chipotle, where did you buy it?

    1. Misky says:

      Sainsbury’s, Claire.

      >

  2. Misky, I wonder if that’s the same as the chipotles in adobo that we buy in tins? We’re hooked on it too – I empty the tin into jars and Big Boy and I dip into it at every meal!

    1. Misky says:

      It’s a jam consistency. Does that sound likes yours?

      >

  3. heidiannie says:

    It sure looks great in that soup! Did you make your croutons,too?

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, homemade croutons. Old sourdough cut into chunks and frozen until needed. Then I fry them in olive oil and herbs. 🙂

      >

  4. Joanna says:

    I am guessing you are off on your travels right now. I will have a look for this next time I am in Sainsbury’s. I have smoked chipotles which Tesco and Waitrose now stock, in the cupboard, dried which I snip into things but a sauce already would be great. It could join Lingams Ginger and Chilli on the shelf. The chipotles have that je ne sais quoi that other chillis don’t 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, at the moment we are sitting in the hotel room, watching floppy snowflakes covering the road, and in two days we will be sitting on a tropical beach. I prefer the latter.

      Chipotles are fabulous! It’s like a tease; not too hot but never quiet. 🙂

      xx

      >

  5. A tasty look into your kitchen this month.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  6. I love the sound of this paste. I will have to try and find some. Thanks.

  7. There must be something similar in the U.S. Love Chipotle!

  8. G’day! LOVE any hot and spicy Misky! Wish I could come through the screen and try your soup now!
    Thank you for this month’s kitchen view!
    Cheers! Joanne

  9. Sally says:

    KP would love some of that paste. Must add it to my ‘to buy’ list when in UK.

  10. Karen says:

    I hope I can find something similar here in New England…I like the idea of a paste. Enjoy your tropical beaches. 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Karen. We’re having a wonderful visit here. Such a nice break from the cold and wet.

      >

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

