Cabbages and the Conqueror Worms

It’s still raining. However ….

Spring seems to be forcing itself on February. The chives are growing like weeds. I have weeds that aren’t growing as fast. I tasted one, just to be sure that they were chives and not weeds, and sure enough they are. I might scramble up some eggs tomorrow for lunch, and garnish them all fancy-Michelin-ish with chopped chives. Eggs on toast turns posh with some home-grown chives.

And the first primrose burst into sunny-yellow bloom yesterday morning. By the evening, the slugs and snails had nearly eaten all the blossoms. Unless we have a bit of prolonged hard frost or snow, we’re apt to have a garden heaving with pests. It’s just been too warm this winter. As an example, my potted parsley usually dies-off by January, but this year – it’s thriving and growing and looks completely happy and healthy.

Finally, I will never (ever) try growing cabbage again. Little critters eat them, and I refuse to spray the plants with insecticide. And picking those worms off the leaves just sends me in convulsive shivers. The worms used to be little green things. Now they’re thick and brown, and they’re growing huge on my cabbages.

I’m tempted to toss these out and buy some cabbages as needed at the supermarket. It is just so disappointing!

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I had the same problem with cabbages (and other Brassicaceae). Since I have a relatively small urban garden, I converted the veg plot to fruit – much better results!

    1. Misky says:

      That’s a great idea! Maybe I’ll plant out some strawberries this year. 🙂

  2. It’s been a tough autumn/winter hasn’t it – so wet and relatively mild that the slugs and snails are still out there. You’re ahead of me with the primroses, but my Nemissia still has a few flowers on it – so wrong at this time of year!
    And I’ve pretty much given up on cabbages too although the red ones did well for me this year, (picked early winter) I still don’t know if that was a fluke or not – this year will tell!

    1. Misky says:

      Last year, I had roses in bud at Christmas. My roses look quite soggy this year.

  3. I attempted to grow kale last spring, but some little critter ate them as well! I love the idea of eggs turned posh with some garden fresh chives though!

    1. Misky says:

      Those critters are growing fat on our gardens!! 😀

  4. Your cabbages look positively rampant compared to ours! Every now and then we try to grow cabbages and this year I have a selection of lacy green things that might make the grade as spring greens but I fear won’t ever make it to cabbage size.

    1. Misky says:

      I think I’ll reserve one of the cabbage plants as a sacrificial lamb, so to speak, and then I’ll try to salvage the others for spring greens … assuming that there are any leaves left!!

  5. narf77 says:

    I have enormous zucchinis turning to slush on the plants…NO idea why but devastating (and disgusting) when you reach to pick an “almost marrow” and it dissolves in your hand…worse than a few thick brown pests methinks 😦 That’s the thing about gardening isn’t it…we keep on soldiering on and learning from the seasons, the climate, the mistakes, the “everything” and it makes our lives exponentially richer simply by our choosing to take part in all of those cycles… scuse me…the duck is protesting her lack of food as she stands under the deck like a VERY annoyed Romeo and I wouldn’t want to translate her soliloquy at this moment in time “its still dark duck…GO AWAY!” 😉

    1. Misky says:

      Oh gosh, how disappointing about your zucchini plants. Any idea what’s going on with them?

      1. narf77 says:

        Someone said it might be blossom end rot, not enough calcium in the soil which would make sense as our soil is acidic here but it was a bit of a shock to go to pick a large marrow and discover that it was 99% slime…ECH!

        1. Misky says:

          Yes, quite a surprise I imagine.

  6. Joanna says:

    I have some italian bulb fennel growing in the garden, which has overwintered and the slug brigade have ignored. Do you like fennel? The seed name was Colosalle, the fennel aren’t very big but they are very sweet. Those worms would put anyone off cabbage, I get cabbages in my organic veg box at the moment and every so often I find a very sleepy and cold green caterpillar wandering around the bottom of the fridge, Eek!

  7. Mandy says:

    Yes, I hear you about the cabbages…Been there, done that, and suffered similar angst 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

