In My Kitchen, February 2014

It’s that time again. Goodness, where did January go?! It’s a new month, and it’s time for another instalment of In My Kitchen. I have three things to share.

First, I have my mother-in-law’s pepper pot made from the wood of a pepper bush. I’ve given it a good buffing, and it looks lusciously rich. I keep course ground pepper in it near the cooker. Every time that I use it, I remember her. We miss her a lot.

pepperPot

I also have some big, fat, scrummy prawns that I shall add to some home-made spicyΒ  tomato pasta sauce. These were the sweetest prawns I’ve had in a long time. The recipe for the tomato sauce is here.

shrimp_31Jan14

I made the tomato sauce from tinned whole tomatoes. I use a tried-and-true recipe that never lets me down. It’s easy and completely delicious, albeit not exactly low in calories or fat. Sometimes I just need a bit of fat in my diet. To keep my joints oiled is my explanation. I reckon we all have explanations for doing something doctors say we shouldn’t. But that’s life. We make choices. I’ve decided to use butter rather than imitation stuff that’s cut with water or oils in order that it might claim “it is healthier”. I doubt that it is healthier.

tomSauce1

And doesn’t it look pretty sitting there on that spoon?

tomSauce2

If you’d like to join in the In My Kitchen series and share what’s happening in your kitchen, just pop over to Celia’s Fig Jam and Lime Cordial blog for details.

30 Comments Add yours

  1. I have a bowl simmer to your pepper pot – I have only ever used it to serve nuts and the like, think I shall have to change that.
    Have a super weekend.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      It’s certainly handy having that little pot by the cooker. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m with you on the butter, I try and use less but its not always the case!
    Lovely pepper pot, I have a pepper grinder of my mums- special is the word

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, very special. I always remember my MIL whenever I use it.

  3. Misk, I’m going to visit your kitchen some day. Yours seems so warm and inviting!!!

    1. Misky says:

      Awww. Such a lovely comment, Janice. Thanks.

  4. Thank you darling. If anyone asks why there’s fat in my cooking from now on, I’m going to tell them that it’s to “keep my joints oiled”. πŸ™‚ Your sauce sounds delish, and I love your pepper pot – just this morning, I was wondering how to store the ground white pepper my uncle just gave me. I think I’ll go hunting for a small container now..

    1. Misky says:

      I used to rely on an old egg cups for years to hold ground pepper and cooking salt. It worked quite well.

  5. cecilia says:

    Butter IS definitely healthier! We have no time for fakes! LOVE the little pepper bowl, my Dad had a pepper tree at the beach when I was a kid.. I have not thought of that for years.. take care darling.. c

    1. Misky says:

      And you, c. Stay warm.

  6. nancy@jamjnr says:

    I’m going to use the ‘keeping my joints oiled’ line too. Anyway butter has to be better than the gunk sold as a ‘healthy alternative’. And it tastes better too. Its nice to have reminders of special people around you – it only takes a glance to make you smile.

    1. Misky says:

      Agreed. All this buttery-tasting-goop that’s supposed to reduce cholesterol is rubbish!

  7. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky, We don’t do fakes in this house either, its butter or olive oil. All that other stuff is full of chemicals. I love your little pepper pot. It is a lovely way to remember your mother-in-law.

    1. Misky says:

      Fakes, yes, that’s a good word for that stuff!

  8. How nice to have a memory of your mum so close to hand and so beautiful. Enjoy the prawns!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Tandy. Might use the remaining ones in a curry.

      >

  9. It’s important to keep one’s joints oiled, Misky… love your pepper pot! And it’s lovely to have something like that as a treasure of a loved one. Happy cooking xo

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Liz.

  10. What a beautiful little pot. I agree about butter being better and will also jump on the bandwagon that I need to keep my joints oiled.

    1. Misky says:

      It’s a sweet little thing, isn’t it. As lovely as she was.

  11. Karen says:

    I would rather have a little butter than something artificial. As they say, everything is better with butter….I just use it in moderation. πŸ™‚ Isn’t nice to have something that you use everyday that reminds you of a loved one.

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, it really is nice to have her pepper pot. She was an excellent cook.

  12. G’day and one word Misky? YUM!
    Thanks for this month’s In My Kitchen view!
    Cheers! Joanne

  13. Sandy says:

    Yes I’m still scratching my head wondering where January went too!
    Laughed at your comment about oiling your joints πŸ˜‰

  14. Joanna says:

    tee hee – fat has a protective function for joints as you age and it keeps you warm in the swimming pool and helps you float and keeps your trousers up without a belt πŸ™‚ I love the pepper pot too! Just beautiful and to think of it being cradled in her hands, one to be cherished I am sure. love, Jo xx

    1. Misky says:

      Peder has that type of butter-spread-stuff with the sterols in it, and I won’t touch it because I’d rather eat natural foods. And we don’t eat that much butter, so I can’t believe that it’s more unhealthy than marg. We’re coming up on MIL’s one year date, and I find that I miss her more and more each day. It’s a comfort having that pepper pot.

  15. Oil your joints….ha ha ha – must remember that one. And for some reason, that sauce looks so inviting in the pan. I feel I could have a big spoonful now – even though it’s breakfast time here!

    1. Misky says:

      A spoonful on your cornflakes!!

  16. heidiannie says:

    That pepper pot is a treasure- I am tired of the canister I have my pepper in- and I have a lovely bowl from Hawaii that I’m going to use- thanks for the idea- it’s great to have tangible items to help keep our memories fresh!
    Always love visiting in your kitchen, Misky!

    1. Misky says:

      Hello! How nice to see you again, Heidi. Hope you are well and managing to cope with winter.

      I’m very pleased to have that little pepper pot as a memento. It makes me very happy indeed. πŸ™‚

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

