How To Make Homemade Dog Biscuits

How To Make Homemade Dog Biscuits

My Molly loves treats but some of them are not particularly healthy. Some have a large amount of sugar, and in my opinion a dog should not be introduced to sugar. I want to know what Molly is eating. Fat? That’s what the ingredient list said on a popular brand of dog treats. I want to know where that fat comes from, what animal or vegetable. Molly is precious to me, and I want the best for her.

mollyBix1

She likes these dog biscuits a lot. There’s very little animal fat in them, as I used vegetable fat (Trex) with just a hint of bacon drippings to tempt her nose.

mollyBix2

These are easy to make. Peder helped! Mix by hand, bake for 20-30 minutes, turn the squares over, turn-off the oven and continue baking and drying-out while the oven cools-off. Bon appetit, puppy.

Lots of natural ingredients
Lots of natural ingredients

Homemade Dog Biscuits

200g strong wholemeal flour
50g wheat germ
½ cup bacon drippings or vegetable fat like Trex
1 large egg, beaten
118ml/ ½ cup cold water

Preheat the oven to 350F/180C.

Mix all of the ingredients together my hand. If it’s too dry, add a few drops of water. If too wet, add a pinch of flour and knead into dough.

Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surfaced to about ½-inch thick. Cut into squares or shapes as small or large as you think your dog might like. Line a baking sheet with parchment, and place the dough squares on it. Use a wooden skewer to poke 4-5 holes in each biscuit.

Poke lots of little holes in each biscuit to assist drying and baking.
Poke lots of little holes in each biscuit to assist drying and baking.

Bake for 20-30-minutes until lightly browned and firmed, turn biscuits over, and return the baking sheet to the oven. Turn the oven OFF, and allow the biscuits to cool and finish drying in the warmth of the cooling oven. Leave in the oven until it’s completely cool. Store in an air-tight container.

Two dozen biccies for Molly!
Two dozen biccies for Molly!

This recipe is inspired by one at Kitchn.

19 Comments Add yours

    1. Misky says:

      Total fluke, Roger. When I saw that on the SD card, I nearly snorted laughter.

  1. I’ve seen biscuits like this for sale but they’re very expensive, so maybe I should have a go. Thanks for the inspiration.

    1. Misky says:

      They’re as easy to make as saying woof-woof. Happy Christmas, Anne.

  2. Glenda says:

    They look good enough for everyone to enjoy 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      🙂 They are certainly made from wholesome ingredients!

      >

  3. narf77 says:

    Bezial and Earl say “thankyou” 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Molly says “You’re woof-elcome!”

      1. narf77 says:

        Its 6.15am here in Tasmania and Bezial and Earl are still upside down on our bed with my husband but when they get up I am going to bake them a nice batch of these with bacon chopped through (crisped up first of COURSE) :). I am sure that they would be most happy to give you a big slobber each in advance 🙂

        1. Misky says:

          Just read The New Adventures of Emo Dog and El Chupacabra, and had a good giggle. Cute little guys! I hope they enjoy their biccies!

          1. narf77 says:

            Bezial is up! He is laying on the floor staring at me…I think he just picked up the vibe that something involving bacon is about to take place and that he is invited to the party! Cheers for checking out the boys on the blog. They might look like big bruisers but Bezial has had a bad week…he got “put upon” by feral cats and a VERY angry chook who had just about had ENOUGH of feral cats pinching her babies…she was down to three and by JINGO she wasn’t going to lose any more, even if the 40kg behmoth of a “cat” that was racing down the driveway next to her hiding place could have scuttled her in 5 seconds…poor Bezial ended up racing back up the driveway (after doing a magnificent 360 degree turn in mid air…) and hiding behind me…I think he deserves a dog biscuit or two don’t you? 😉

            1. Misky says:

              Maybe the whole batch, poor little guy. Crumbs, what a trauma!

              1. narf77 says:

                He is still recovering…AND the feral cats hiss at him through the fence while he is cowering (and they say that American Staffordshire terriers are terrible 😉 )

                1. Misky says:

                  Molly has taken to barking at our new fridge when the motor turns on. She thinks the fridge is growling at her. Her hearing is going, she’s a bit old now, and I think the sounds confuse her.

                  >

                  1. narf77 says:

                    “Good Girl Molly!” You have to let these modern appliances know who is boss or they will think that they rule the roost. My daughters little staffy decided that she just didn’t like a new clock that they bought and regularly barks at it as if to say “don’t even THINK about it sunshine!” . She is only 5 so age isn’t really a factor…more like she hasn’t got Bezial to boss around any more and has a Napoléon complex methinks 😉

  4. Nanette says:

    I saw you mention duck fat in your doggie biscuits on Celi’s blog…….do you use that in place of the bacon fat and how much would you use? I saw some in the butchers the other day and wondered how I could use it…..thanks for the bikkie recipe.

    1. Misky says:

      Any fat will do, Nannette. If I don’t have bacon or duck or chicken fat, I use olive oil. My Molly loves them! I have a recipe for them here also. If you need help finding it, just shout. 🙂

  5. Nanette says:

    Thanks will give them a go, think I’ll add some sweet potato too. No animal fat here as I’m a veg, but don’t mind getting some to go in bikkies for the girl.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

