In My Kitchen: December 2013

In My Kitchen this month is:

The resurrection of Sedrick-the-Sourdough-Starter. He is producing splendid, lofty, highly flavoured bread. I’m so proud of the little guy!!

sourdough_1Dec13

In My Kitchen is another loaf of Danish-style dark sourdough rye bread for Peder’s Danish sandwiches. It’s a huge batch of dough that weighs nearly a kilo, takes about 3 hours to rise, and 90-minutes to bake. But it’s delicious and moist, and freezes extremely well.

ryeBread_1dec13

In My Kitchen is a glass of cranberry gelée that I make by boiling fresh cranberries with port wine, and pushing the whole squidgy mass through a sieve.

cranberryGelee_1Dec13

In My Kitchen is comfort food. Winter-warming food. Toad-in-the-hole!

toadHole_P1030883

In My Kitchen there’s always time for a cup of coffee and a fresh baked sourdough bun.

coffeeBuns_1dec13

I’m hoping to also bake up a storm for Christmas, so I might be adding to this month’s post in the weeks to come. To join in the fun of sharing what’s in your kitchen this morning, pop over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for details. 

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Wow Sedrick! You are a star among starters, look at all those breads that you made under the floury hands of Mme Misky – send your sunshine this way please 🙂 xx

    1. Misky says:

      He’s a little champ! This loaf had such amazing flavour. I was so pleased. 🙂

  2. The toad in the hole looks amazing and what a great frozen moment in the world, coffee and a bun:)

    1. Misky says:

      The toad-in-the-hole was scrummy! There’s nothing like a bit of comfort food on a cold, grey day.

    2. Misky says:

      I’ve tried 5 times to post a comment to your IMK post but it just won’t stick – disappears into the ether somewhere. So forgive me for posting my reply to your post here: I love the idea of potted herbs as a gift for guests, and homemade is always so special. Nice touch!

      1. Hi I’m sorry about, they ended up coming through but blogger could really do with an update to their comments features.
        Thanks for being persistent with wanting to leave a comment I really appreciate it:)
        The herbs are great cos it really want people toget lots of little things on the day and feel extra loved….plus the whole thing was done for about $25, loved and in budget lol

        1. Misky says:

          Sounds fantastic! Gifts needed cost a fortune when one has creativity on their side. 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    It looks like you are enjoying your new kitchen and appliances a lot…lovely baked goods. 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Karen. It’s a very good oven!

      >

  4. how do you use your Cranberry gelee? It looks delicious.
    Love the look of your bread and Toad in the Hole.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Anna, I use the gelee as condiment for poultry, hams, with cheeses, in sandwiches … Just about anywhere actually. It’s luscious stuff.

      >

  5. Your bread looks wonderful! This is the perfect time of year to make your own. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you. Very yummy bread! Thanks for the visit. 🙂

      >

  6. I want to be in your kitchen Misky – so much deliciousness.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      😀 You’re always welcome, Mandy!

  7. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky, Your bread certainly is impressive. I am always so impressed with people’s bread making skills.

    1. Misky says:

      Everything I know I learnt from Joanna (Zeb Bakes). She’s my oracle. 😀

      1. Glenda says:

        Joanna is certainly the queen of all things bread.

  8. Sedrick is back! Hooray! Misky, what an amazing huge loaf you’ve baked, gorgeous crumb! And your toad in the hole looks delicious (but deadly to the hips!)… 🙂

  9. lizzygoodthings says:

    Misky, that bread looks absolutely delicious! Well done you.

  10. Kim Bultman says:

    So much bread-baking deliciousness in your kitchen, Misky! The sourdough rye is calling my name… I also enjoyed your “how to” on the cranberry gelee.

  11. heidiannie says:

    Love all the bread, Misky! That is my favorite kind of baking- and good for Sedrick!
    I’m still more comfortable with yeast but sourdough could easily become a way of life.
    I always love a visit in your kitchen, Misky- thanks for sharing!

    1. Misky says:

      And thanks for stopping by, Heidi. It’s always lovely to see old friends. 🙂

  12. I’m so impressed with your bread baking! Sourdough at that! The cranberry gelee looks so festive!

    Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones!

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, and the same happy wishes to you and yours!

  13. Jas@AbsolutelyJas says:

    Oooh! I like Sedrick’s centre slash. I’ll have to try that with Fred 😀

  14. Love to see that Toad in the Hole, Misky – it’s not always about gourmet and fancy pants. Sometime the old comforts are best. Cheers!

    1. Misky says:

      So true. I’m just a simple cook!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

