Waldorf Salad and a Pork Chop

waldorfSalad2

A quick dinner last night – used up 4 or 5 of the smaller apples stored in the garage. Some are going a bit starchy, which is a huge disappointment. I’ll use more for a cranberry and apple gelatin salad this week, and maybe chunky applesauce with smoked bacon for lunch, too.

I love Waldorf Salad. I cut the fat/calories (re P’s diabetes) by using low-fat mayo and an equal amount of low-fat yogurt. Just enough to dress – not swimming in it. To the chopped apples (which I’ve tossed in a bit of lemon juice so they don’t turn brown), I add chopped celery, walnuts or pecans, sometimes grapes, and chopped dried cherries or raisins or sometimes dried cranberries depending on what’s to hand. Mix it all together, and you have a wonderfully tasty salad that loves pork.

Waldorf Salad has an interesting and long history. It was first created in 1896 at the Waldorf Hotel in New York City. Oscar Tschirky, who was the Waldorf’s maître d’hôtel, developed the salad, which appeared in The Cook Book by “Oscar of the Waldorf”.  The original recipe did not contain nuts.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I can never find any Waldorfs in our local supermarket….I’d love to make this if only I could find the missing ingredient.

    1. Misky says:

      😀 I suppose I could call it The Waldorfs Salad but Im sure they have more than one salad, and I wouldn’t wish to limit their choices to one. And an Apple-with-chopped-celery-nuts-and-hacked-up-other-stuff sounds less Waldorfie.

      1. Misky says:

        Gosh I wish the Safari would stop with the weird symbol replacements for letters.

  2. Karen says:

    Fruit and pork go so well together. I like your version of the Waldorf salad with the yogurt…I’ve been using it to replace part of the mayo in recipes as well.

    1. Misky says:

      I discovered a few weeks ago that strained fat-free Greek yogurt works well as a dressing base, too. Fiddled about with a ranch-style dressing using Greek yogurt, and it was passable. Nothing beats the real thing though, I have to admit.

  3. cecilia says:

    We are making this salad with the last of the apples here too. I was surprised to find that the nuts were not in the original. I love nuts in anything though.. good food.. love love.. c

    1. Misky says:

      Want to know a quick trick? If the dressing goes a bit gluey or thick, thin it out with a splash of apple brandy. Mmmmmmmmm. Yum…. kiss-kiss. M.

      1. cecilia says:

        aha.. excellent trick, i have some home made peach brandy ready to be strained.. what a stunning idea!

        1. Misky says:

          🙂 Bon appétit

  4. lizzygoodthings says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe Cecilia, I don’t think I have actually ever made a Waldorf salad. Love your version.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Lizzy. It’s quite refreshing!

      ~ Misky

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

