In My Kitchen: November 2013

on

In my kitchen is something that actually does what it claims it will – a self-cleaning oven. I had roasted a chicken for dinner one night, and it made a frightful mess of my lovely new oven. So, I pulled out the user manual, read and read, and when I was convinced that I’d translated the wonky German-to-English, I gave it a try. I have a self-cleaning oven! See?

A Self-Cleaning Oven

To join the fun of In My Kitchen, just pop over to Celia’s Fig Jam and Lime Cordial blog. Here’s the link that will take you there. http://figjamandlimecordial.com/2013/11/01/in-my-kitchen-november-2013/

 

 

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Glenda says:

    Wow, it is amazing that they actually work. You are very lucky Misky.

    1. Misky says:

      It’s always nice when things do as they claim!

      >

  2. lizzygoodthings says:

    Misky, sounds great! I have yet to test that function on my new one… the manual is in English, but the instructions are not so clear!

    Happy cooking.

    1. Misky says:

      Is it an AEG oven?

  3. heidiannie says:

    Did it give off any noxious burning off the grease sort of smells? I see a fan that looks like it may have taken care of that. My self cleaning oven works, but I don;t want to be in the kitchen whilst it is working.
    Nice to see you here, Misky.

    1. Misky says:

      It just smelled very, very hot. The fan is for the fan-oven feature, and it was running during the program.

      Nice to see you, too, Heidi. Hope you’re well.

  4. Gustoso says:

    Love it. I wish I had one.

    1. Misky says:

      Like you, I wished that I had one for decades upon decades, and at long last I do. Worth the wait!

  5. Karen says:

    It looks like it has never been used…your self cleaning oven works great. πŸ™‚

    1. Misky says:

      It was completely mucky with spitting chicken juice. Turned on the self-cleaning, and taa-daa … all clean! I’m so impressed with it.

  6. Oh you are a very lucky lady Misky. Desperately wish I had one of those.
    Have a super week.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy xo

  7. margo roby says:

    Now, think the complete opposite and you have my oven. It is not self-cleaning. My arthritis is in my hands so I haven’t cleaned it and Skip appears to think that a nice layer looks just fine, like a patina!

    mox

    1. Misky says:

      If he gets hungry, he can scrape off a layer and slap it on bread, like marmite.

      1. margo roby says:

        He’s particularly fond of marmite… as am I.

        1. Misky says:

          There you go. You’ll never have to buy it again. Just scrape the oven.

  8. Misky, that’s fabulous! It looks like it’s brand new! I’ve never had one, but a friend once told me that you should never put any sort of commercial oven cleaner in there, because it stops the self-cleaning from working somehow.. xx

    1. Misky says:

      I haven’t used cleaner on it, so I’m glad you gave me a heads-up!

  9. I wish! Mine is far from it but I am getting a new kitchen next year & a self cleaning oven is top of the list! As they work, that’s even better… my faith is restored : )

    1. Misky says:

      You’ll love it! Truly. It’s so easy. When does your kitchen remodel start?

  10. Hallelujah! The self-cleaning oven is the best invention ever!!

    1. Misky says:

      So true!! I love it.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

