A Snapshot of the Garden: 25 October

Here’s a quick snapshot of the garden this morning. The cabbages are growing well, look healthy, and I’m looking forward to making homemade saurekraut in the spring. These are Winter Cabbages, and I’ve never grown them before … so we’ll see how it goes. The alpine garden is growing well, too, and the heather is blooming and attracting the last bees of autumn. I’m not sure what the little tightly-packed green succulents are called – my Peder
tossed away the labels before I could make a note. Does anyone know what they’re called?

12 Comments Add yours

  1. cecilia says:

    Your new garden must feel like paradise .. cabbages for spring, i would love to have green things in the garden all year round. Your succulents look very healthy and Heather! what a great plant to have.. have a glorious weekend misky.. c

    1. Misky says:

      I love heather; I have a lot of it around. Red, pink, white and gold colour. Its such a sturdy and hearty plant, and nothing seems to damage it. I have a lot of winter pansies around, too, so theres a small bit of colour. Im very disappointed with the Wallflowers though. The slugs have nearly demolished all of them!

  2. margo roby says:

    The heather is gorgeous. I think your first succulent is one of the sempervivum family. We used to call them rose cacti. They are also called Hen and Chicks. I found a great site while looking for the ‘proper’ name:

    http://garden-photos-com.photoshelter.com/gallery/Cactus-Succulent-Desert-Stock-Photos/G0000rGOoB3_DW6Y/

    m

    1. Misky says:

      Oh, thats a great site! Thanks, Margo. Hen and Chick is the name I always knew them by. My mum had them, and it was always a favourite. I told Peder that I wanted some when we decided on a succulent alpine garden!

  3. I hope the storm didn’t do too much damage – we escaped pretty much damage free – except for a few panes of glass from the greenhouse being blown out.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Claire! No damage, happily. A bit down Balcombe Road they sure had problems though, so we were very lucky. Even the builders skip full of stuff pretty much stayed put.

      We are having lots of problems with slugs right now. The little beasties have chomped through almost all of my wallflowers!

      1. Oh heck I forgot I planted wallflowers!!

        1. Misky says:

          Do you have any left? Do you have a slug and snail problem also?

          1. Oh yes we have a slug and snail problem (a walled sheltered garden with lots of hiding places!) and out of the ten wallflower plants there are two left…… the warm damp autumn certainly hasn’t helped!

            1. Misky says:

              Its such a pain, Claire! I dont actually know what to do with my remaining wallflower plants – leave them and hope new leaves will come?

              1. That’s what I doing or rather hoping!

                1. Misky says:

                  Right. Thats what Ill do also then, and together well hope for the best.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

