How to Save Money at the Supermarket – Buying Past Sell-By Tomatoes

on

tomatoes

I managed to pick up a large package of on-the-stem cherry tomatoes the other day. They were past their sell-by date but they looked okay – not fuzzy or rotten. When I opened the package, the tomatoes felt just slightly soft, so I fired up the oven to 200C, sliced the tomatoes in half, drizzled some olive oil on the tomatoes, sprinkled a bit of flaked salt on top with some chopped garlic and fresh oregano, and roasted them for about 4-minutes.

Totally delicious served with some sourdough bread to mop up the juices, and it cost less than Β£1 for two servings. Buying past the sell-by-date produce is a good way to save a bit of money!

Do you have a favourite way of saving a bit of money at the grocery store?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Fabulous lunch.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Mandy. It was the last hurrah of summer, I think.

  2. Just wonderful. Amongst my favourite flavours and you’ve made them look great. Top post.

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Roger! Simple food that’s still delicious. πŸ™‚

      >

  3. Looks delicious Misky! I have garden cherry tomatoes which would be perfect cooked like this!

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Celia. I’m going to try a drizzle of balsamic next time I do this. Maybe some fresh basil? My potted basil is still growing happily and healthy as a horse. πŸ˜‰

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

