What To Do With Those Apple Peelings

See all of these apple peels? I have bucket loads of them! Guess what … applepeels_2Oct13

I just saw a recipe (that’s not really a recipe at all) for using up these bits that would normally go straight into the compost pile. Actually, I don’t have a compost pile anymore  – during the garden remodel that corner of the old garden is now filled with a couple of fruit trees. I’m not sure if I’ll resurrect another compost pile or not. Maybe a little one that doesn’t insult the newly planted box bushes or the rock garden with its little alpine cuteness.

Anyway, back to the apple peels. Spray them with a bit of water, sprinkle them lightly with sugar (or Splenda in my case), spread them out on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, and bake at 120C (low temp) until they are crispy and rolled up like old dead tree bark. Sounds appetising. I plan to try this tomorrow, as it’s “Let’s make more applesauce day!” (groaning heard from Mr Misk)

Has anyone else tried doing this? Was it successful or am I wasting expensive electricity on a half-baked whim?

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky, I have never heard of the idea. Love to know how it turns out.

    1. Misky says:

      They turned out well, tasty, crispy, but considering the price of electricity it’s a rather expensive treat.

      >

      1. Glenda says:

        Still I like the idea, next time I have apple peels I will give it a go. I will pin it.

  2. I’ve never heard of it too! Curious to see how it goes!

    1. Misky says:

      They are very tasty but it’s rather a waste of energy before they go crispy. 🙂 took over an hour.

      >

  3. Joanna says:

    I saw that and I wasn’t that convinced but let us know how you get on – not making vinegar this year? That is prob what I would do with them if not composting or boil up with cores for pectin and make very low /although sweetener freezer jam with some plums ?

    1. Joanna says:

      Stupid auto spell should say alternative sweetener

    2. Misky says:

      No vinegar this year; too much builders’ dust and debris in the air. I must research making apple pectin from cores. I’ve not done that, and I should.

      >

    3. Glenda says:

      Hi Joanna – I would love to make a good vinegar and would love to know how you use the peels in making it.

      1. Joanna says:

        Hi Glenda, apple cider vinegar can be made from all the ‘off cuts’ of the apples, so peels, cores, etc. It takes a while, weeks if not months but I have done it for the last two years now and it is very satisfying. Misky and I did it together one year, following Carl’s rendition of Sandor Katz, I sent her some ‘mother’ to kickstart hers. I think she has a series of posts about it somewhere but for a link to the method try Carl’s blog here http://www.carllegge.com/2011/09/fermenting-revolution-2-apple-cider-vinegar/

        1. Glenda says:

          Thanks so much Joanna. I am trying to make a mother at the moment. Nothing is happening. How did you make yours? BTW I hope you don’t mind all the questions.

          1. Misky says:

            Glenda, you shouldn’t expect to see a mother for at least a week. Did you read the post at http://www.carllegge.com/2011/09/fermenting-revolution-2-apple-cider-vinegar/ ?

            1. Joanna says:

              I left a comment on Glenda’s about page on her blog to help a bit more. You are right the mother won’t form until the apples have fermented and gone to the alcohol stage and that takes a bit of time.

              1. Misky says:

                Excellent. Thanks, Joanna.

  4. I think that sounds like a delicious snack…and easy, which is the best! 🙂

  5. I give all my apple peels from making crisp to the Wild Turkey who knew they would come running!

    1. Misky says:

      The whiskey or the bird?

      >

      1. lol BIRD 🙂 good idea though 🙂

  6. dianadomino says:

    I’ve heard of making an apple infusion into alcohol with peels. Using organic apples, of course, which yours are. I think one takes some flavorless alcohol of some sort like a good vodka, and put the peels and vodka into a jar with whatever else you want to flavor the liqueur with, i.e., cinnamon? cloves? Or go another direction and try for more tart with a bit of lemon. Anyway, it’s steeped for about 6 weeks, given the occasional shake, and at the end of that time, strained.

    Do let us know how the baked apple peels come out, Misky. It sounds yummy.

    1. Misky says:

      They turned out pretty good, but I really like your suggestion of “appled” vodka. Yummy!

      >

  7. Looks like a tasty idea, with a sprinkle of cinnamon! Probably successful if your peelings are thicker like mine, not paper thin like my older sister’s!!! 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I had a bit of each, thick and thin, and thin worked best. 🙂

      >

  8. Love this idea! Great, thanks : )

  9. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Well, how did it work out, Misky? I was thinking maybe apple flavored vinegar.

    1. Misky says:

      Nice and crispy and delicious … But I don’t think I’ll make them again as there’s a lot of money in fuel expense for making these little treats. It was about 40 minutes in the oven.

      I made vinegar using apple peel last year. It’s a very interesting albeit lengthy process.

      >

  10. Bastet says:

    I’ve never heard of this idea, but sounds interesting…I don’t usually have peels though as even when i do apple sauce or pie or whatever, I leave the peels. I also use a gas stove rather than electric, so maybe the next time I make strudle or pie, I’ll peel the apples!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

