In My Kitchen: October 2013

on

In My Kitchen: October 2013

We just returned home from a week in France. Peder returned with armloads of cheese. I returned home with jars of mustard and a food mill. I finally found a food mill that didn’t cost a fortune. A lot of shops in Dijon and Beaune had food mills but I wasn’t prepared to pay €60 for one. Yes, it was lovely and sleek and would last several generations of use, but truth be known, neither of my daughter-in-laws enjoy cooking, and I doubt they’d  know what a food mill was or what to do with it. So I bought a cheap plastic model from a French supermarket that was reduced in price. It was a steal at €6.50

 

Our apple trees produced a bumper crop this year. Last year we had nothing on the trees but this year – WOW! I’ve made applesauce for three days, and today I had to go out and buy more containers so I could freeze some more of it. A lot goes into jars and heat-sealed, but I also freeze some, and it freezes and thaws very well.

applesauce1_2Oct13

Our apples are organic, no sprays at all, so they can look a bit bumpy and odd shaped, but they are delicious and juicy, and well, fun to look at. Most of the kids in the neighbourhood think they “look weird” and ask if they also “taste weird”.

 apples1_2Oct13

So I set about making lots and lots of applesauce. 25 kilos of apples in three days, and after using the food mill, that small amount in the sieve was all that was left. I just LOVE my food mill.  (p.s. I did however core and cube the apples before cooking. I didn’t peel them though.)

 apple2_2Oct13

Applesauce with small chunks of apple in it. Not too smooth for us.

 applesauce_2Oct13

And that is what’s in my kitchen this month. To join in the fun, just pop over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for details and read the other posts for the month.

43 Comments Add yours

  1. yes…funny how a food mill becomes a ‘must have’. I made my first batch of passata last year and spent a good while looking for one that wasn’t too expensive. I finally found one that was meant for making baby food (at a thrift store) and it took me sooo long to pass all the tomatoes through! This scenario stayed in the back of my mind for the rest of the year until finally I found a regular sized (all stainless steel) one for about $20 Canadian. This year my passata was done in no time at all!

    1. Misky says:

      Ah! Hadn’t thought making passata. I bet it’s much better homemade than from the shops. I might see if the local farm shop has some tomatoes ready to go too ripe on them. 🙂

  2. heidiannie says:

    I love the look of your applesauce, Misky- that is the way we make it- not too smooth
    I peel and core my apples- so it takes a little longer- but I haven’t found the food mill I want,yet.
    Thanks for sharing!

    1. Misky says:

      I looked for years in the UK, and couldn’t find what I wanted. Found it in France on the last day of our holiday there. Yippee! Nice to see you around, Heidi. Hope all is well with you and your family.

  3. Marianne says:

    Your applesauce looks delicious, Misky. I love a chunky texture. Never knew you could freeze it. How grand to spend a week in France.

    1. Misky says:

      My mother always frozen her applesauce, which is how I knew it works well. She froze it in little containers (like for yogurt) so she’d have small portions with her breakfast. Take one out at night, and it was thawed by morning.

  4. Hi Misky the apples and sauce look great! My tree has lots of flower so hoping it turns into a good crop, unlike last year…not an apple in sight.

    1. Misky says:

      Something must have happened with the weather last year that set all the trees into low yields. Even the professional orchards in Kent (near where I live) had a slim year of apples last autumn. This year – WOW! Had to prop up the limbs because of the weight. Good luck with your trees!

  5. Nice post. Such an important piece of kit, the food mill. Funnily enough there was a sale at our local supermarket yesterday, and there was a pile of these food mills for 2 or 3€ each. The plastic ones seem to have as long a life as the 60€ versions, so I think they have a problem selling them. If you’ve bought one, it’s unlikely you’re ever going to need another 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Hello, and welcome. I am a great ‘fan’ of your blog, and the gorgeous photography. I’m pleased that you’ve stopped by for a read. As for the longevity of my new food mill, at my age … I’m apt to pop my clogs long before my food mill pops its! I’m sure having fun with it though. 🙂

  6. You can’t beat homemade apple sauce.
    🙂 Mandy

    1. Misky says:

      True, Mandy. Warm and slathered on dark rye or pumpernickel bread with some crispy bacon on the side. Yum!

  7. What will you do with all that applesauce?

    1. Misky says:

      Eat it during the winter. 🙂

  8. Misky, do you ever bake with your applesauce as sweetener instead of sugar? I think it works reasonably well – I’ve seen a few cookie recipes with it! Nice food mill – we used to use ours for passata, but it’s a right bugger to clean – does yours go in the dishwasher? And I love your wonky apples, they look perfect to me! 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I’ve not tried baking cookies with applesauce but I will see if I can find a recipe for it. I have a cake recipe for applesauce but the silly thing also requires considerable sugar. My food mill cleaned up okay, not too difficult. It totally comes apart so no little hidden crooks or crannies. It can go into the dishwasher but I just washed it up by hand since I had the dishpan full of soapy water. 🙂

  9. Misky, I bet your apples taste wonderful!
    I have had a mouli like yours for 15 years, really easy to clean; sadly I will have to replace it this summer because I’ve worn out one of the discs and can’t find replacement ones.

    1. Misky says:

      If mine last 15-years, I’ll be delighted!! 😀

  10. cecilia says:

    I need a food mill too but have never got around to it. I have this very strange triangular sieve thing that belonged to someones grandmother, it works ok. Apple sauce is so easy to make isn’t it, i don’t even core mine i like that nutty flavour, and the pigs eat the left overs, and thank you for winding me back up, i have MORE to do and will start another batch today! Welcome home…c

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks. Nice to be back home with all my workmen. I removed the cores because so many of the apples had … erm … creatures lurking between the seeds. I don’t think I need the extra protein. 😀

      1. cecilia says:

        Oh, the dreaded worm, yes, in that case.. off with their heads! c

  11. Glenda says:

    Misky, your apples look divine. I bet they are crisp and juicy. I have to admit, I am not too sure what a food mill is. Is it like a moulie? (I can’t work it out from your picture)

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, Glenda, a mouli. In the photo it’s disassembled after I cleaned it. Those Discovery apples are really yummy!

  12. Our Discovery taste really good this year after several years of mediocre taste. Having seen your containers full of sauce I suppose I’d better get on and freeze some apple sauce, though most of ours gets pressed for juice or cider. I hadn’t thought about putting it through a mill – looks much better than the endless peeling and coring I usually do.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Anne, it’s so easy with a food mill that I’m rather kicking myself for waiting so long. Your juice and cider sound a treat. I love apple juice, the cloudy sort especially.

  13. Jas@AbsolutelyJas says:

    Your apples might be a little bumpy, but they’re gorgeous, as is your apple sauce!

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Jas!

  14. G’day Misky! Yum re the home made apple sauce, TRUE!
    I have recently made passata and thank you for this month’s kitchen view!
    Cheers! Joanne

    1. Misky says:

      Pleasure, Joanna. Passata is next on my to-do-list!

  15. Hey Misky! 25 kilos!! WOW!!
    It’s actually kind of sad the kids in the neighbourhood think they’re weird, we’re all so accustomed to eating perfect skinned and blemish free fruit that we don’t realise what ‘real’ apples should look like!

    1. Misky says:

      Everything is about beauty and perfection nowadays. It’s not just pretty models in mags that promote that idea!

  16. Karen says:

    Our apple crop was the same this year. Last year we probably got one bushel from 300 trees. This year all the trees are loaded with fruit. I’m sure you are happy to have your food mill…it looks like it worked wonderfully for your apple sauce.

    1. Misky says:

      The Cox are ready. I’ve started making applesauce again. And Waldorf salad. And apple butter….

  17. Kim Bultman says:

    Misky, I think your apples look fun, too. Many folks overlook (or waste) produce that isn’t “picture perfect” and it’s a shame — never mind a few critters in the middle — there’s good eatin’ (and cookin’) in them thar apples! 🙂 Your applesauce would go great with a slab of cheese and a swipe of mustard from your recent trip… on a thick slice of crusty bread… mmmm. Your food mill seems very durable — you certainly gave it a workout!

    1. Misky says:

      The other day I toasted up some sourdough bread, topped it with warmed applesauce and some bacon, and then piled it high. Delicious! Cheese and mustard is a great combo; we do that often. Yummy!

      >

  18. So how do we get kids to stop associating a supposed weird looking fruit with weird taste! I guess in the case of an apple tree it would be scrumping!

    1. Misky says:

      Maybe I should put a sign out!!

  19. I love my apple sauce slightly chunky as well…yours looks delicious!

  20. I love the look of those ‘weird’ apples – bet they taste great too! It’s amazing what you can find in supermarkets and discount stores – just because they don’t have a ‘big name’ attached, you can pick them up for a song!

    1. Misky says:

      They’re delish! I’m going to roast some this afternoon. Very yummy. 🙂

  21. Pat Machin says:

    Lovely apple sauce. I used to have a mouli when my kids were young but it must have got tossed out in some move or another and I’ve never replaced it.

    I like applesauce a little coarse as well ~ in fact I like most things less than smooth.

    I never thought of using one for Passata. I’ll watch out for one on offer.

    1. Misky says:

      Thank you, Pat. I’m looking forward to using my mouli for passata. Just haven’t found time yet!

      >

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

