Quick Thai Soup with Prawns and Asparagus

Quick Thai Soup with Prawns and Asparagus

This soup is really fast and tasty. Mr Misky said “This recipe is a keeper” so I said, “There’s no recipe. I just made it up. Sort of like what I tried to eat in Thailand but it was too spicy for me, so I just drank sweet iced tea instead.”

thaiSoupShrimpAsparagus_10Sep13
Ingredients:

1T olive oil
1 clove garlic
3 shallots or 1 onion, minced
2 t red Thai curry paste
4 round nests of thin soup noodles
200ml low-fat coconut milk
400-500 ml chicken broth (from cube is fine)
6-10 fresh asparagus spears, cut into small pieces
1-2 t Thai fish sauce
juice 1/2 lemon
generous portion per person of cooked prawns
shredded fresh basil as garnish

Method:

Cook over low heat until soft and translucent:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 clove garlic, crushed
3 shallots or 1 small onion, chopped finely

Bring another large pan of water to a rolling boil, and blanch for 2-minutes:

6-10 asparagus spears, cut into small bite-size pieces. Add the tops last as they cook quickly. Remove the asparagus from the pan, and allow to cool.

In the same pan (top up with more water if needed), cook 4 round nests of thin soup noodles as per package instructions, and then drain. Stir through some olive oil to keep noodles from sticking together.

Add to the cooking garlic and onion, and stir well:

2 teaspoon red Thai curry paste
1-2 teaspoons fish sauce (to taste)

To this mixture, add:

200 ml light coconut milk
400-500 ml chicken broth
juice of 1/2 lemon

Stir in the cooked noodles, and add:

a generous portion of cooked prawns to warm in the soup. Garnish with shredded basil.

And then enjoy a little bit of Thailand!

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks delish! It sounds like a keeper to me too! 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I can’t easily buy raw prawns, and I think those would be better in this soup as it would enrich the stock. It’s yummy!

  2. Yum! Looks lovely and light and fresh – thanks – will try it 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      If you can get your poetic fingers on raw prawns the flavour will thank you. I just didn’t want to drive 15-miles to the Chinese grocery store for soup ingredients.

  3. Glenda says:

    Hi Misk, that does sound nice, better still if you could get raw prawns. It is interesting they are hard to get.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Glenda, perhaps I should’ve said “difficult to find locally” because I could drive 15-miles to the nearest Chinese grocery, and buy them there. I just didn’t want to burn that much petrol, which is frighteningly expensive, for a few soup ingredients. 🙂

  4. Janet Rörschåch says:

    How gorgeous do those bowls look. FABULOUS!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Chef!

  5. I’d happily live on Thai food for ever and ever I think.

    (Misky how’d you go with the sauerkraut?)

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Brydie! The sauerkraut was not a particular success but not because of your method – I think the room was just too warm, and it started to grow white fur. We tossed it out. I’ll try again during winter when I’m sure it has enough cool temperature to ferment properly.

      1. Damn. Sorry to hear Misky. It could well have been the temperature difference. I really think at most my kitchen would have been 18C when I did the other lots. It’s warmer here at the moment and Im planning on doing another batch tomorrow so will see how we go. I hope no growing of fur!

        1. Misky says:

          My kitchen was easily exceeding 22c each day; it was summer. I will try again though once the temperatures drop low enough. I’ll keep it in the conservatory where it’s unheated.

  6. Delicious.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  7. cloudfactor5 says:

    By adding Thai red curry paste ( one teaspoon will keep it from being too spicy),
    coconut milk and a little chicken broth to any stir fry you can whip up a version of what you suggest here !! My wife also likes it when I add a few thawed oysters for flavor !!!!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

