In My Kitchen: September 2013

It’s hard to believe that it’s already September but here’s what’s in my kitchen right now.

There are lots and lots and lots of blackberries. Some to freeze, some for jam, some for crumble, and … some to eat right out of the box. Mr Misky makes wonderful jams.

blackberries_9Sep13
And soon all of these apples hanging around patiently from our Discovery and Cox apple trees. They’ll be in the kitchen – applesauce, apple crumble, roasted apples, waldorf salad, and Danish-style apple cake. We’re already eating the Discovery apples but the Cox apples are still a few weeks away from being ripe.

And saffron threads! I know that I can buy these at the supermarket but these came in a gorgeous little bottle with gold-colour thread. Who in their right mind could resist such a pretty little package? Not me!

inMyKitchen1_sep13 (738x800)

And September is when my outdoors potted basil starts to give up and die, so it’s time to buy a potted plant from the supermarket, and then put it in a nice pot in the kitchen windowsill. I can usually keep one of these plants going for months and months without problem. Some people I know have trouble with white fly in their potted herbs but for some reason I’ve not had that problem … knock on wood.

inMyKitchen2_sep13 (600x800)

So that’s what’s happening in my kitchen this month. What’s happening in yours? To join the “IMK” fun, pop over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Glenda says:

    Hi Misk, Did you grow the blackberries, if so you are very smart, they look wonderful 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Blackberries around here grow wild like weeds. They’re everywhere. I picked these in a field across the road.

      1. Glenda says:

        Wow, weeds!! They are very expensive here 😦

  2. Pat Machin says:

    I love your little jar of saffron. So much nicer than the packs from the supermarket.

    I have a pot of basil on my shopping list as well! We’re down to single figures (centigrade) here at night and early morning.

    We’re knee deep (not literally) in blackberries as well. It’s been a good year for them.

    1. Misky says:

      Very true, the blackberries are plentiful this year, as are apples. Your trees are heavy with them.

  3. andreamynard says:

    Just starting to pick blackberries, they seem late ripening around here but soon will be freezing and jamming too. Love your apple pics.

    1. Misky says:

      Ours seem to be on schedule but our grapes are about a month behind. They should be nearly ripe now but they’re like little green pellets. Thanks for stopping by Andrea.

  4. Misky, look at those blackberries! As Glenda said, they cost a fortune here, how wonderful to have them growing wild! And the saffron bottle is very cute – was it a Costco buy (I recognise the Kirkland brand)? And the potted basil is green and lush – hope it gives you months of good eating even when the weather cools down outside!

    1. Misky says:

      Hi, Celia! Yes, it’s a Costco product, so much less expensive than the supermarket price. Like by half! I’m planning on making bouillabaisse with some saffron in it. It’s just not bouillabaisse without saffron! I’m still shaking my head about the blackberries – amazing that our weed is so cherished in Australia. xx

  5. Oh my, those blackberries look mouthwatering, and your apples! Crunch. Love this post.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Liz! The man who washes my windows just loaded up his pockets with apples. He’s very happy. 🙂

      1. lizzygoodthings says:

        I bet he is!

  6. Gustoso says:

    That’s a healthy looking basil.

    1. Misky says:

      And here’s to it staying that way!

  7. Janet Rörschåch says:

    You have wild blackberries? Lucky duck! Misky, how your garden grows! Worth all the effort you guys did this year. When do you start planning for next year’s garden?

    1. Misky says:

      They’re everywhere, Janet. So many that the county sprays them along the lanes to keep them under control. It’s been a bumper crop this year. Warm, dry weather in July helped produce huge, juicy berries. Lovely for jam.

      I have spring cabbage planted now, which will be ready early April or May. Might plant out some elephant garlic that I bought at the supermarket the other day, too. Not sure if it will sprout and grow though. Have you ever planted store-bought garlic cloves?

      1. Janet Rörschåch says:

        Hi ya Misky! Never planted garlic cloves. I would have to do a bit of research. Not sure if they grow at this elevation. Good luck. Enjoy those blacknerries.

      2. Misky, if you leave the garlic until its getting those small greens shoots (past its best for cooking) you can then plant the clove and grow your own. The Chinese ones are heat treated once they come here so I buy a locally grown one.

        1. Misky says:

          Thanks for that! Brilliant info. 🙂

          >

  8. I agree that saffron bottle is very cute! I hope the white flies stay away from your new basil plant 🙂

  9. Kim Bultman says:

    Misky, not only do you have a wonderful array of produce, you have a wonderful foodie imagination (all the things you’ll make with them!) I like your LaMancha saffron jar, too — looks like a “keeper” for future treasures.

    1. Misky says:

      i keep wondering what I’ll put into that cute little bottle!

  10. Those blackberries look delicious. I’m envious as berries don’t grow here (Brisbane) – too tropical. Still, you probably wish you could walk through the neighbourhood and pick mangoes from the trees! Thanks for sharing.

    1. Misky says:

      Oh yes, I’d rather love that – picking mangoes from trees … as long as the neighbour wouldn’t mind!

  11. I’m going to be re planting my herbs soon as well. I guess I should do it before they freeze!

    1. Misky says:

      We don’t see frost until November so I have a bit of time yet. 🙂

  12. G’day! Love blackberries and Spanish Saffron, true!
    Nothing better than homemade jam too!
    Viewed as part of IMK
    Cheers! Joanne

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

