In My Kitchen: July 2013

Is it already July? I think I’ve lost half of this year in a cloud of builders’ dust. So let’s see what’s in my kitchen this month. I think I’ll keep this one short.

Here’s my extra-wide utensil drawer that has various compartments for my tools. I love this; I’m a Virgo; we like things organised.

UtensilDrawer (1024x768)

And my kitchen FINALLY  has a bit of privacy as the blinds arrived a few weeks ago. I was not keen for the neighbours to see every move I made in the house. We’ve replaced all of the old windows in the house, so the blinds were updated. These are wooden.

HR2_3July13 (768x1024)I rather love that faucet, too.

That’s it for this month. What’s in your kitchen that you’d like to share? If you’d like to join in the fun, just pop over to http://figjamandlimecordial.com/in-my-kitchen/

28 Comments Add yours

  1. heidiannie says:

    That drawer has quite taken my breath away
    I am a messy- and my younger sister was very neat. We were still the very best of friends- she was a Virgo, too- I’m never taking a picture of any of my drawers . I used to tell her I like the adventure of the hunt! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing, Misky!

    1. Misky says:

      Ooooh, pleeeeease?! I’m interested in seeing what nifty utensils you have floating around in there. 🙂

  2. How neat is your kitchen drawer! Awesome. Can you please come to my place and make mine so beautiful! Wish I had those dividers in my big kitchen drawers. What a wonderful idea.

    1. Misky says:

      You can buy them at Ikea if there’s one near you.

  3. Misky, I reckon I’d have to label every single utensil with a slot number for it to make it back to the right place, even with a system like yours in place! 🙂 Can I ask, do the utensils get hot underneath the hob? We have a knife rack over our dishwasher, and the metal knives are always quite warm. And love the wooden blinds! How nice that your kitchen is finally done! xx

    1. Misky says:

      My worktop above the dishwasher also gets warm but not under gas cooker. I proof dough above dishwasher sometimes!

  4. G’day! WHAT a drawer with such an organized system, true!
    I think my drawer looked like that once 🙂 and enjoy between the blinds view!
    Cheers! Joanne

    1. Misky says:

      I also like that it limits the number of gadgets easily to hand. I reckon I only need half of what I’ve bought over the years. 🙂 Thanks for leaving me a comment and reading July’s In My Kitchen.

  5. Misky, I told Celia that the only neat utensils drawer I’d ever seen was in the catalogue of IKEA. You proved me wrong, I can’t believe how great your drawer looks!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Lisa. I do love that drawer!

  6. I would kill to have a drawer that organised. But I am training the 11 year old to unpack the dishwasher which things get shoved wherever she feels like. I guess I should be thankful things make it into the drawer. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Misky says:

      Good luck with that, although I’m sure your 11-year old will do you proud. 🙂

  7. Loving the clean lines and the sense of organisation that’s coming across strongly – I’m a Sagittarian so like you I enjoy a bit of order even if I’m not so good at it (!)

    1. Misky says:

      I find when I accumulate too much stuff I become disorganised. Then I have a clear out! A new kitchen is a good excuse for that. 🙂

  8. I too am painfully neat. A short but beautiful view into your gorgeous new kitchen.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Mandy. I work better in the kitchen if I know where everything is. 🙂

  9. i hope i can get that cabinet rack in my kitchen, make a very tidy kicthen…

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, it’s one of my favourite things about my new kitchen.

  10. cecilia says:

    Morning Misky darling, I just love your new kitchen.. I would also love to join Celias in my kitchen page but i am never ready for a new month to roll over and Oh MY but do I understand about builders who will not finish and just go HOME!! Mine still have a ‘bit’ to finish! and keep appearing at odd times and not getting the job bloody finished! OK back into the garden for me!! Have a lovely day.. c

    1. Misky says:

      Good afternoon! My builders have waddled off to Spain for a holiday. They’ll return while we’re in Bogota. Two windows need realigning, three steps need finishing, a drainage pipe needs connecting up for grey water, railway ties around fruit trees, plus another few tons of topsoil. I also want a rubber grill placed in the grass beside the garage for guest parking. The grill will keep the cars sinking into mud during the winter. And welcome home, btw. xx

      1. cecilia says:

        Oh the list!! I love the rubber pad idea. While I was away the painter set up for painting and then did nothing! even his brushes are all laid out! Nothing!! and the roof guys came and put up a quarter of the gutters, without the down spouts! and then very carefully stowed a ladder on TOP of the young lilacs and sodded off.. Sigh.. maybe i will come to Bogota with you, where is that anyway? c

        1. Misky says:

          At least your guys didn’t sod off to Spain for holiday. All of them! I still have all of their equipment here: cement mixers, trowels, stuff I don’t even know its purpose, their tubes of mayo and mustard in my fridge, all those thingies still hanging about here like they’re marking their territory. Bogota is high in the Andes Mountains in Colombia. High altitude and low temperatures. Heaven. It’s 34c here today. Why did my builders even bother going to Spain- it’s hotter here than Spain! M xx

          Sent from my iPad

  11. cecilia says:

    You are having hot weather, perfect time to go to somewhere cooler.. bloody builders.. Gotta Love them! c

    1. Misky says:

      I do love them. Andy is brill at what he does but he’s been here a year off and on. It’s a bit long. xx

  12. Ooooh, you are a virgo 😉 I have draw envy Misky.

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, and hubby is a Pisces, so we are swimming in organised chaos. 🙂

  13. Karen says:

    Don’t know how I missed this post. I would say if your one drawer is like the rest of your kitchen, you are a very organized person indeed.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

