Home Improvement: Garden Renovation

Rain chased off my workmen today, so there was only a half day of bricklaying completed. Things are moving along quickly though, and I reckon that weekends aren’t meant for a full day work anyway. Besides lots of rain has turned the garden into a slop of mud.

HRgarden1_13June13

We’ve had 28 tons of top soil delivered, and I’ll be darned if I know where it’s gone. That sounds like such a huge number, and yet when it’s levelled out it hardly seems to make a difference. I know that it is there but it sure doesn’t look like it.

This is Mark-the-Brick Layer. He’s brilliantly talented, and if he decided to stop making brick walls, he could easily get a job icing cakes. He’d probably want a big trowel though.

HRgarden2_13June13

There was a slight problem with some of the bricks; same lot number – different colour. All *&$% broke out between Andy and the supplier. I think a solution was found but I’m not interfering. Andy is paid to sort out these problems, and that’s what I expect him do.

HRgarden3_13June13

Molly isn’t allowed out the back door anymore; it’s far too muddy. She escaped once and turned herself into a wiggling blob of mud. She’s quite happy with all the extra walks she gets every day. Woof.

HRgarden4_13June13

Nifty tool that, the one with the handle. The guys load up that triangular scoop with bricks, and then sling it over the shoulder, carrying it where it’s needed. It’s huge!

HRGarden6_13June13

Next week should really show some progress! Until then, toodle-pip!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow.. there’s so much renovating going on over here! I love your new blog header as well.. it’s a fitting name.. did I miss the post where you introduced it for the first time? I’m off to take a peak. And yes.. please get Mark to do some cake decorating, that would be fun!! xx

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Barbara! Yes, it’s all new-new-new around here. I didn’t ‘introduce’ the new name – perhaps I should do? Maybe a little christening party like a ship naming ceremony? 😀

      1. Oh, yes!! I would bring a “virtual” dish to your party:) xx

  2. Karen says:

    I can’t wait to see the completion of this next project…the first was so wonderful. Perhaps you can do a party in the garden celebrating your new name. 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I must post an update. Tomorrow, hopefully. The turf is down, and now the ‘boys’ are laying pipes for drainage. The wiring is also in place for lighting. They stopped early today because we have an electrical storm overhead. It’s a bit noisy at the moment. 🙂

  3. Misky that’s all very exciting!

    1. Misky says:

      Indeed, although the men have decided that I can’t have a kitchen garden this year. Grrr.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

