In My Kitchen: June 2013

The workman are still doing brickie stuff in the garden this week, except when it chucks down rain, but at least the kitchen is finished. The new blinds are due to be fitted on 20 June, and then the remodelling project for the kitchen will be finished.

In my kitchen this month are things from Denmark:

clip_image002

This is a spoon from the antique silver setting that I inherited from my in-laws. It’s called French Lily (Fransk Lilje), designed by Christian F. Heise. It was produced in Sweden and Denmark between 1860 and 1924. As with most silver, the knives and forks are silver plated to give the piece needed strength for use. The spoons are 3-tower silver and are as light as a feather. It makes eating breakfast cereal with them quite special.

clip_image004

Two Royal Copenhagen hand-painted vases. These were my mother-in-law’s favourite vases.

clip_image006

A set of 8 Staffordshire earthenware luncheon dishes and side plates. I really love these!

clip_image008

 

Peder retired this month, and this is his retirement gift from the company. Georg Jensen (humungous) silver vase.

That’s all for this month. What’s in your kitchen this month? To join the fun, pop over the Celia’s Fig Jam and Lime Cordial blog.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. lizzygoodthings says:

    The Staffordshire plate is just gorgeous! Hope all is well in your part of the world.

    1. Misky says:

      Funny that I had to go all the way to Denmark to find an English antique. I like those plates also. I’ve always admired them.

      All well here. Lots of sunshine today, so my workman accomplished a good day’s work. Yeah!

      Hope you are well, also.

  2. Misky, “the kitchen is finished”. What glorious words! I love that silver spoon – whenever I see something so old, I wonder about the history behind it – how many mouths it’s been into, what was happening in the world when it was made. It’s in wonderful condition for such an old bit of silver. And the silver vase is absolutely divine – maybe in a hundred years, someone will also be wondering what was happening in the world when *it* was made.. 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      The back of each piece has Peder’s great-grandmother’s initials engraved on it. The entire set was her wedding gift. I’m really pleased to have them.

  3. How lucky you are to have such beautiful things. I would be thrilled to have just the spoon, the whole cutlery set would make me swoon.

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, I am very lucky, and very honoured, too. I feel that I’m the caretaker of these heirlooms until it’s time for them to pass along to the next generation.

  4. Karen says:

    I could not chose a favorite…they are all absolutely wonderful.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

