Today’s Lunch: Mushrooms on Toast

mushroomToast_7June13

There’s an electrical storm of impressive strength rattling the neighbourhood at the moment. It stalled here, and here it sits. We’ve been listening to thunder for well over an hour now. Time to shut-down the computer (power surges aren’t good for computers), and make lunch. I had a bag of brown closed-cup mushrooms, a swirlable amount of half-fat cream, fresh thyme, chives and parsley from the herb garden, and sliced sourdough in the freezer. I love that my toaster can do its thing to frozen bread, and I’d be none the wiser as to original state: frozen like a brick or fresh out of the oven.

So while the storm had its way with the Mother Nature, I sliced up the mushrooms and herbs, sautéed them in olive oil, toasted the bread, swished some cream around the mushroom mixture, and poured it over the toast.

This is comfort food for me. I love it. Any sort of sauce over toast makes me happy. I mean, lunch needn’t always be a sandwich, right?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Your cooking my kind of food, Misky. LOVE MUSHROOMS!

    1. Misky says:

      Sorry about the bread though. Don’t want to give your tum the jumps.

      1. Janet Rörschåch says:

        No worries. I can always sub.

  2. A storm outside and lovely toast for lunch – sounds like heaven!

    1. Misky says:

      I love summer storms almost as much as mushrooms!

  3. Joanna says:

    Gnammy! I think that sounds like perfect comfort food.I am sitting with my trousers rolled in a welsh cottage garden while doing gentle battle with an unfamiliar kitchen to produce supper. But all will be well, sunshine,swallows and rolling green hills and the Irish Sea in the distance… Think I can see Tom and the periwinkle out there xx

    1. Misky says:

      That sounds idyllic to me, and I know that you’ll tame that kitchen with your kindness. I wish I could find a few hours of quiet here where I could have a lengthy chat with Tom, and discover where he wants to go. 🙂

  4. thehungrymum says:

    oooh, I know what I’ll be having for breakfast tomorrow 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration.

    1. Misky says:

      You’re very welcome, and I hope you enjoy your brekkie!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

