The Oven and Three Bears

My new AEG oven has a mind of its own. It’s like a character in a fairy tale; happily not a Grimm one. I played with Sedrick-the-Sour-Dough-Starter the other day, and baked bread. Three times, actually. My bread prefers conventional oven heat, not the fan.

So I experimented with several “True Fan” settings and temperatures, and the best result was conventional heat radiating from both the top and bottom of the oven.

bread1_25May13

This temperature was a tiny bit too hot, and ….

bread2_25May13

… this temperature was just a shade too cool, but ….

bread3_25May13

… this one was just right, and we ate it all up!!

Do you use conventional or the fan setting on your oven when baking bread?

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely light and airy interior to your bread! Sedrick is clearly going well. I’ve got no option but to use the fan setting on my oven. I thought that the idea was that you got even heat distribution but I still have to spin things round in it as it getters hotter on one side than the other ( I learnt that the hard way with some decidedly burnt bread rolls!).

    1. Misky says:

      Hello, Monday Baker! My previous oven was a Neff, and it only had fan-assisted heat. It was a good oven, did well for about 20-years, and then it started taking forever to warm up. It would take well over an hour before it was hot enough to bake bread. Happily, its demise coincided with our remodelling project. 🙂 I might have to create a new Sedrick though as he really suffered being frozen rather than snuggled into the fridge and fed regularly. I’d hope to keep him happy in the freezer but he did have some problems rising to the occasion. It took nearly 5 hours for that loaf to rise. That’s a bit too long for the second proof.

  2. I don’t have fan assist on my oven any more so straight forward conventional it is.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      Hi Mandy! I’m finding that I don’t use the True Fan setting at all any more! It’s all conventional heat. Sometimes fan plus top heat if I’m baking something that needs a crispy top (lasagne, etc.)

  3. I use the fan forced, but like the idea of the conventional. Will try that when I’m back on grains.

    1. Misky says:

      Are you off grains for weight-loss or general health?

  4. Fan forced here, it’s what I’ve always known 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      My old fan oven had a a lot of hot spots so I had to constantly turn food baking. Does yours?

  5. That bread looks lovely and bubbly inside! I haven’t had an active starter for ages but I think I will start one. (I’ve never used the fan in my oven, btw.)

    1. Misky says:

      The bread disappeared quite quickly. I’ll make more this week, although it’s apt to be an interesting ordeal with workmen scurrying around here again. I did discover that the fan function without heat made brilliant bread crumbs! 🙂

      1. That is an excellent find. Will have to try it as I have lots of crumb candidates sitting around.

  6. Joanna says:

    Top bottom here always for sourdough in particular and always for large loaves. Fan dries the top too fast and throws the steam out as fast as it can. But it is hard working with a new oven, Sedrick, bless him, looks alive and kicking good! xx

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, Sedrick did well on that loaf but we were struck by tragedy during an extended lack of power to the freezer in the garage recently. One of the workmen disconnected the freezer’s plug so he could use it for the cement mixer, and then he didn’t plug it back in at the end of the day. Sedrick thawed and Peder mistook him for gummy school glue. I might have to restart a starter using him as an invitation for the locals to take up residency.

  7. I’ve always baked with fan – just the top or bottom elements on our Smeg tends to burn either the top or the bottom. 😉 I’ve burned out two elements and two fans over the past fifteen years.. 😉

    1. Misky says:

      Is it a free-standing Smeg? I saw those and fell in love with them. I also fell in love with the Britannia cooker; I wanted it in bright red. Andy-the-Builder talked Peder out of it. I’m very happy with my AEG oven, so no harm and no foul. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

