In My Kitchen: May 2013

Here is a brief post for May’s In My Kitchen. May has been a busy and rather difficult month for us, and between visits to Denmark and issues with the remodelling project, I’ve hardly time to sit down at the computer and submit my offering to the lovely Celia who organises In My Kitchen. I know this post is late but I thought it better that than never.

So here is a single item that I’ll share with you.

InMyKitchen1_June13 (1024x768)

This treasure is from my late mother-in-law. It’s mid-1800s earthenware from Russia, before it was the USSR, and there are three bowls in the set. The largest might meet the requirements of a family-sized salad bowl, the smallest holding about 500ml, and the middle one midway between those two. It’s fragile, so no putting this one in the dishwasher. I used it tonight to serve steamed new potatoes, just as mother-in-law would have done at this time of the year.

In memory of her, I’d like to share her favourite serving bowl, given to her by her mother, who received it from her mother, and now it’s mine.

To join in the fun, pop over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for details.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    What a treasure indeed, beautiful colours and patterning; some household things are chock full of eclectic memories as well as the everyday food they hold; memories of meals shared and jokes and conversations, I am sad for you and P and hope that there is comfort in the bowl and the renewed use of it to serve new potatoes, much love, Joanna xx

    1. Misky says:

      I was afraid it might feel bitter-sweet to use it, but I was wrong – it seems she’s given us complete permission to use it because it made us happy to stab at a potato and pass the bowl back and forth. Do you know what I mean about ‘permission’? Perhaps I’m being too new-age-ish …

  2. Such a beautiful piece and how wonderful that you have not one but three. After packing up the belongings and treasures of numerous older family members, I am a firm believer in using things rather than seeing them on display in a china cabinet (for ‘good). Thank you for sharing, Misky.

    1. Misky says:

      Most of it we’re using, but I do have two vases that I’m keeping behind glass when not in use.

  3. Janet Rörschåch says:

    I love those kind of treasures! Hey Misky. I have a question. How are you putting the copyright on your photos? Is it something you do before downloading or something you can do on wordpress? Thank you!

    1. Misky says:

      I use Picasa, a free Google graphics program, that allows you to type words on a photo. To my knowledge, WordPress doesn’t have that feature. Picasa is at http://picasa.google.com/

      1. Janet Rörschåch says:

        Thank you, thank you. Will check it out.

        1. Misky says:

          If you want an online editor that’s free and very good, try PicMonkey at http://www.picmonkey.com/ I use that one also, and it’s good fun. 🙂 Actually go to PicMonkey first.

          1. Janet Rörschåch says:

            YAY MISKY! What a clever tool! Thank you for cluing me in. Love it.

  4. Glenda says:

    Misky, that bowl is gorgeous and all the nicer as it belonged to your mother-in-law

  5. Misky, I adore it, it’s absolutely stunning, all the more so because of its treasured history! You are so sweet to find the time for this post given how hectic everything is at the moment! Thank you! xx

    1. Misky says:

      Entirely my pleasure, Celia! Thank you for leaving your comment. 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

