A Look In The Garden: May 2013

The garden is slow to wake this year. We approach the 3rd week of May, and only now is the apple tree in bloom, only now is the grapevine sprouting leaves, and the tulips are still holding their shape after several windy and rainy days.

Is your garden also a bit behind this year?

garden1_11May13

The apple tree. Lots of bees around to pollinate, too, which makes me very happy.

garden2_11May13

The grapevine sprouted last week, and it seems to determined to catch up for lost time!

garden3_11May13

The bleeding hearts and daffodils are nearly finished blooming.

garden5_11May13

garden4_11May13

Tulips are still happy to be the centre of attention.

garden6_11May13

Now, that’s yellow!

garden7_11May13

It looks like an old fashioned rose but it’s actually a double tulip. All the rest were single.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Those tulips!! Stunning, I’m insanely jealous. It doesn’t get cold enough where I am for tulips

    1. Misky says:

      They put on a good show this spring, but spring sure took a long time coming!

  2. lizzygoodthings says:

    Oh Misky, those apple blossoms and tulip are ever so pretty! I’d love to come visit you and your garden some day ox

    1. Misky says:

      It’s prettiest at this time of year. By late summer, it’s not worth a second glance. 🙂

  3. Misky, SO beautiful! We don’t grow flowers, so I’m especially enjoying yours! x

    1. Misky says:

      My dream is to have some that remain as colour in the borders, and some that I can cut for the house. That’s my dream, at least! 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Our blooms were pretty much on schedule this year even though it was one of the snowiest winters ever. Love your photos.

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Karen. I think everything is rushing to catch up. 🙂

  5. Janet Rörschåch says:

    I miss the bleeding hearts. What a fun little garden you have,

    1. Misky says:

      You can’t grow them where you are? My mother lives in a retirement home, and she planted some in the building’s garden. No one objected – I think they were delighted, actually.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

