A Look Inside Your Cupboards

Here’s something just for the fun of it! Play along if you wish or just read the comments.

My cupboards are filled with basic ingredients, very few packaged convenience food, lots of flour, lots of ground coffee and tea, several bottles of olive oil, dried fruits and massive amounts of nuts and seeds, oatmeal, cornflakes, granola, diet drinks, and a few jars of olives, artichoke hearts, and dried pasta.

Are your cupboards full of basic ingredients for cooking from ‘scratch’ or are they primarily packaged foods that you consider quick and easy to make?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh dear, what has happened? Looks like I posted my reply elsewhere, so I’m copying it here too!

    I love cookbooks in which you’re given a list of the writer’s ‘basic ingredients’ ~ and my do they vary ~ I base my list on what started off as an amalgam of them, a list to suit me and mine that’s been developed over ummmm … quite a long time šŸ˜‰

    1. Misky says:

      I certainly won’t be trying that WordPress form malarkey again. Your comment sent in the form went straight to my email inbox. Not exactly what I hoped would happen but there you have it. šŸ™‚

      I just downloaded one of Mary Berry’s older Kindle-version cookery books, and she has a great basic ingredients list and necessary equipment. She even lists where to buy her tools of the trade, although I suspect most of hers were freebees from the manufacturer. She seems to support Waitrose.

  2. Definitely basic ingredients, despite the best efforts of my teenagers to sneak in pre-packaged meals. The lamented cries of “there’s nothing to eat, despite a pantry full of food, still ring in my ears, but I held out, and now they prepare a fairly good meal from scratch!

    1. Misky says:

      Well done you, Amanda, for teaching them that packaged food isn’t so much easier to prepare than ‘real’ food. šŸ™‚

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

