Today’s Lunch–A Bit of Salad

lunch_8May13

It’s the beginning of May, which means that it’s salad season again. Hurrah! I love salads. I love creating colour from bits of mixed and matched stuff hiding in the fridge, and since the house is crawling with workmen again, a salad was the easiest solution.

This salad was lunch today, and it had a coddled egg, 1/2 an avocado, lambs lettuce, spinach, romaine, two cooked beet roots, a tin of tuna in spring water (the empty tin didn’t go into the salad), cherry tomatoes, grated parmesan cheese, and a smashed-up nutty mixture of pine nuts, walnuts, lots of garlic, chopped dates, parmesan and olive oil tossed into a food processor until it’s chopped roughly and then flash fried in a hot frying pan until warmed through. That same mixture is also good mixed through cooked pasta. Salads – love them!

What did you have for lunch today? I’d love to share lunch ideas with you!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    That looks fantastic. And yes, YAY! Salads!

    1. Misky says:

      Totally agree, and love salads that creatively empty the fridge. 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Oh my, that is what I call a loaded salad…sounds great.

    1. Misky says:

      It was pretty darned tasty, true enough. 😀

  3. the perfect salad Misky…yum.
    I had sprouted buckwheat granola and natural yogurt, with a handful of sultanas thrown in for good measure. (Healthy little things aren’t we 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      We often have yogurt with raspberries and honey for afters. So good! Yum.

  4. I so love the expression, a “coddled” egg. It makes me want to cup my hands around the egg and jiggle the soft yolk around. Gorgeous lunch Misky! 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      A friend told me about a “coddler” but I’ve yet to discover what it is. I must find out! Summer means lots of colourful food, as far as I’m concerned. I love colour and I love summer! 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

