Home Improvements–Better Than Hoped

This is looking even better than I’d pictured it in my head. The mix of ‘Dove Grey’ lower cabinets with the ‘Chalk White’ upper cabinets is perfect. If it had been totally one or the other colour, I think it would have been too much for that long stretch of wall.

Today things really began to take shape, and I can see how things will looks. The big fridge-freezer is in place, but not connected and the water lines are plugged in yet either. The microwave-combi oven (on top) and the huge single oven (below) are slotted in, but not connected. I am however reading user manuals so that I’m already to play once everything is up and running. That however might take a bit longer than planned. The granite worktop man can’t come out to make a template until Wednesday next week, and it takes about a week after that before it’s fitted. The man who makes the template for the glass walls (back-splash goes on all the wall surfaces will measure up, and then that takes another week after templating. So we’re looking at least another 2 weeks before I can have my kitchen back under my control.

Peter-the-Painter also put two coats of white on the newly plastered living room ceiling, and the new Georgian door is ready to be painted tomorrow. Skirting boards and coving all painted and drying as I write. Those take a bit longer to dry because they are oil-based paint.

Here are a few photos taken after the workmen left this afternoon. And by the way, kitchen-fitter #1 and kitchen-fitter #2 are the most brilliant carpenters that I’ve ever encountered. And that’s a fact!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. cecilia says:

    Good God Misky, this is a fantastic collection of images, you must be thrilled!

    1. Misky says:

      Good morning, c. A bit. Yes.

      (dancing about and giggling!)

  2. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Looking pretty fantastic Misky. Lucky you!

    1. Misky says:

      Good morning, Janet. Yes, truly, very lucky. The old kitchen was beginning to fall to bits though. Quite beyond repair. The old oven struggled to heat above 200c, and sometimes just stopped working altogether for 10-minutes — and then it would switch back on again. Bread hates that sort of nonsense. And only two burners on the hob worked properly. Two of them always blew out, which isn’t a good thing. It was time to chuck the lot. Afterall, a kitchen is something used three times a day in this house!

  3. Veronica Roth says:

    Looks fantastic so far Misky. I painted the cabinets at West Cottage this Christmas, from an ugly peach to bright glossy white and it’s transformed the space completely. And, I love the “normal” size fridge you have. I miss my normal Vancouver fridge when I’m in E. But, then, there’s really only the two of us most times in E so I should just shut up. 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      I’ve missed a ‘normal’ size fridge for 22-years, and now that my boys are grown and married and have children … I have a proper size fridge again! Better late than never, I say. The two upper doors open like a wardrobe to the fridge with 4 long solid shelves (adjustable to same or different levels). The bottom door pulls out for the freezer, with a pull-out drawer for shallow frozen items like bags of peas, etc). It’s a dream. 🙂

      1. Veronica Roth says:

        Very similar to mine in Van Misky. But I have one door on top plus pull out freezer on the bottom. Also sexy stainless 🙂

        1. Misky says:

          Sounds lovely, Veronica!

  4. AWESOME!!!
    🙂 Mandy

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

