March Into My Garden

A few photos to prove that spring finally has a toehold in the garden. Thank goodness. It’s been a long, bleak winter.

The acer tree is covered with buds ready to open.
The acer tree is covered with buds ready to open.

It’s Mother’s Day this Sunday … and look at that poor old bird feeder. It’s rotting where it stands, it’s been nailed back together more times than I can remember, and the squirrels love gnawing their way through the squirrel-proof nut feeder. Squirrel-proof? Pah!

This birdfeeder is almost 15-years old! Is it time for a new one?
This birdfeeder is almost 15-years old! Is it time for a new one?

The daffodils are blooming, but only the early blooming ones. The next ones will bloom in April. The heather is blooming, too, and the dianthus plants are setting new leaves. And look at those crocuses! Scented gold, they are. The tulips are breaking ground, and so are the hyacinths. I’ve forgotten what colour they are, so when they finally bloom it will be a happy surprise. Maybe pink or perhaps blue?

What’s happening in your garden this week? I’d love to hear what early March is offering up this week!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Glorious flowers! we cut the grass two days ago and realised that most of the lawn is covered in daisies. The blackbirds are rooting around for food, magnolia in bud, peonies shooting, bits and pieces here and there, a little soft rain and some warmer days and we will be away!

    1. Misky says:

      Spring seems particularly glorious this year after such a long and taxing winter. I watched blackbirds collecting up bits of dry grass this morning. It warmed my heart, Joanna, just to see life returning to normal. 🙂 xx

  2. Janet Rörschåch says:

    More snow for the Rockies on Saturday, but we really need it. Love the daffodils. Happy flower.

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, indeed, a very happy flower. They always seem to nod agreement in the breeze. Stay warm in your snow storm, Janet. xx

  3. Gerry Wilson says:

    Almost everything is still dormant here (Mississippi), if you can believe that, although the trees have that light yellow green color against the blue sky (and I know there’s fresh pollen about). We had lows in the 20s last week, which may have stunted our azaleas. We shall see. Meanwhile, I enjoyed your gorgeous photos that reassure me: spring will come!

    1. Misky says:

      I had no idea that temperatures dropped so low in Mississippi. I obviously watch too much television! 😉 I think Mississippi, and I think warm, humid days.

  4. Veronica Roth says:

    Love the gold of your crocuses Misky. I planted about 50 in the lawn last fall and many are blooming now. Also, big surprise, I’ve got flower buds on the violets! Can’t wait for those little spring treaties. And the aconites and snowdrops, but my dafs are still only green shoots. Do you have any tree blossoms yet? My plum is in tight bud here in Van but in OXON we have crab apple buds on the verge of opening.

    1. Misky says:

      Hi, Veronica. No trees with blossoms yet here. My apple trees are still tight as winter, and not ready to wake up yet. Not even flowering cherry trees, and they always appear first so I think we have a while before I can see blossoms on any trees in my area. Last night was the first time this winter that temps were above freezing!

  5. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky
    It is still hot and dry here. The paddocks are brown and dry and dusty. Everything is waiting for the first rain. The forecast is for a bit of rain on Sunday. We sure hope it eventuates.

    1. Misky says:

      I’ll send you some of our rain, which it seems never ever ever stops. (grump)

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

