How To Make Sourdough Pancakes

Once a week Sedrick, my sourdough starter, gets a feeding. Occasionally I forget, and then I have to feed him over a few days until his little bubbly-self is resurrected and capable of rising 500g of raw dough again. When this sort of force-feeding is required, it creates a bit of extra starter that usually goes straight into the bin. A healthy starter needs reducing by half, and then feed with the discarded weight of flour and water so it has fuel to burn for a few days. It’s that discarded treasure that went straight into breakfast this morning rather than into the bin … and, oh my, delicious pancakes with fresh, crushed blueberries.
sourdoughPancakes_6March13

Thanks to Frugal Feeding’s recipe for sourdough pancakes, we used the leftover starter. I plan to do this every time I have starter leftover from a feeding. No more throwing out Sedrick! The recipe is at  http://frugalfeeding.com/2013/03/05/sourdough-pancakes/

6 Comments Add yours

  1. cecilia says:

    I once made sourdough pancakes using an old cowboys recipe and they tasted AWFUL! Thank goodness for you and Fruge.. i shall grab this recipe while I think about it and use it this weekend, though i am supposed to be on an anti winter diet.. ah well.. never mind!! c

    1. Misky says:

      They were very tasty. Peder liked them, which is good enough for me. 🙂 I’d love to hear more about your anti-winter diet, c.

      1. cecilia says:

        No flour, no sugar for 6 days. I am feeling puffy and flushed.. somehow this winter seems longer than usual and I am sure it has been for you! You have had some hard times this winter. How are the singing builders? c

        1. Misky says:

          Peder is diabetic, so no sugar is no problem. I never use it in cooking or on food. The flour is a different issue as we have Danish open sandwiches on homemade rye bread for lunch. Maybe we will switch to soup for lunch for a while?

  2. Great! So glad you made them already! I’ve just gone self-hosted, sorry if that link didn’t work for a few hours 😀

    1. Misky says:

      Your post was timed well, as I feed Sedrick-the-Starter once a week — just as you posted your recipe. No problems with the page. I just used your bare-bones url with the wordpress.com address, and it found it right away.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

