In My Kitchen, February 2013

In My Kitchen: February 2013

My house is about to be beat into submission. Remodelled, updated, opened up, warmed up, and we’ll let in the thin winter English sunshine. The back wall of the dining room will be knocked through on Wednesday, and a tri-folding glass wall installed. Other walls knocked down, steel supports and beams inserted, under-floor heating, wooden floors, new double-sealed windows throughout the house, the back door bricked-up  … and a new kitchen with new units and appliances in mid-March. This will be 6-8 weeks of breathing dust and excitement!

During that time, I’ll not have an oven or a cooker, but I will have a microwave, so I’ll start reviewing and writing about ready-meals and microwave food. This is a new avenue for me. Lots to learn. I know how to warm-up coffee in my microwave and make oatmeal but not much more. Perhaps that big silver box will start earning its keep!

So let’s start with February’s In My Kitchen.

My old kitchen. Goodbye my faithful friend.

imk_kitchen2_8Feb13 (800x600)

Here’s a little handful of cedar hearts. The rich scent reminds me of my childhood, playing in dense forests in the Pacific Northwest.

imk_heartsWood

Earth-coloured spices ready for pounding into a curry.

imk_herbscurry_8Feb13

Grandma’s old silver cutlery polished up and ready for use.

imk_GransSilver_3Feb13

This is a nifty find: one side is foil and the other side is non-stick parchment paper. Very useful!

imk_DoubleFoil_3Feb13

Photos and finds and memories stuck on the fridge door.

imk_Fridgepix_8Feb13

Grandma’s linen napkins, cleaned up of stains and ready for use.

imk_Linennapkin (800x600)

So what’s in your kitchen this month? Join in the fun of “In My Kitchen” — just pop over to Celia’s Fig Jam and Lime Cordial feature In My Kitchen and see what other people are sharing from their kitchens!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. cecilia says:

    I love those little cedar hearts.. but oh how I hate the dust from demolition, but you might find some interesting newspapers in the walls, i always put in the newspaper when i build a wall. Maybe you can cook in a slow cooker too, a crock pot. I have a lovely carrot cake recipe for the microwave, you can have it if you want. let me know if you do and I will send it to you.. Now i am off to boil eggs!! c

  2. cecilia says:

    i mean steam eggs, well you knew what i meant! c

    1. Misky says:

      Yes, I knew what you meant, c! I’m looking forward to that post. I tried doing it a few days ago in a double-boiler but I over-cooked them. Rubbery and unpleasant. Made egg salad with them. 😉

      Now a crock pot! That’s something that I didn’t think of. It’s a good idea. I wish I could find a neighbour to share small appliance use with – after the new kitchen is installed I probably wouldn’t use it much.

      I would be interested in the carrot cake recipe – yes, please! Thank you.

  3. Glenda says:

    Misky Good luck with the renovations. I don’t envy you.

  4. Joanna says:

    Good luck! farewell then Kitchen of Misk, maybe you can go out for dinner a lot…

    1. Misky says:

      Wouldn’t that be lovely! We don’t eat out that often, so perhaps we might during the worst of the (de)construction. 🙂

  5. Ooooh, exciting. Beyond the mess and the dust, is a new beginning. A new kitchen, happy cooking!

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Lizzy!

  6. I know what you will face but it will be worth it. I wouldn’t dare post images of my kitchen. Our old croft house is due for complete renovation and the kitchen is a bomb site. Maybe a before and after… 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      Personally, I love seeing before and after photos … but … I also find the entire process fascinating, so I hope that you make a photo journey of your croft’s renovation. 🙂 I’m hoping to do it, assuming my camera can focus through the clouds of dust!

  7. heidiannie says:

    Love those napkins of your grandmother’s- I bought a set from the thrift store that I bleached and ironed- I wish they had been in my family!
    I’m sure you will come up with wonderful recipes from the microwave!
    AND I love the foil/parchment paper- I haven’t seen any around here.

    1. Misky says:

      I’m not sure about the microwave, Heidi. I have no clue how to use one properly! 🙂 I’ve done baked potatoes in it, warmed up cold coffee, warmed up leftovers for lunch …. but not much more!

  8. Goodbye old kitchen! I’m so glad you took a photo for us Misky, so we can watch the changes in progress! 🙂 Love the curry spices and cutlery, but absolutely love your fridge of family photos. Do you have Asian children and grandchildren? Those photos just made me smile from ear to ear! xx

    1. Misky says:

      I also smile ear to ear, Celia, when I stand in front of the fridge and look at my family photo collage. It contains pets, family holidays, birthday celebrations, anniversaries, lots of my two sons as they grow up (yes, both are Asian), in-laws, my father, mum, daughter-in-law, and lots of photos of my grandchildren (Emma and Ethan). We are spread wide across the world, so we don’t often get together in one place. My fridge door is where we all (metaphorically) gather so I can give them morning greetings and kisses.

      1. Misky, that is fabulous! They’re all beautiful, and obviously so well loved! x

  9. What exciting times ahead with the renovations. I can only imagine how exquisite your new kitchen will look – the old one is stunning enough.
    Love heirlooms like your cutlery and napkin.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Misky says:

      I’m very fond of those napkins. A real treasure as far as I’m concerned. An heirloom for one of my daughter-in-laws one day. I’m looking forward to a cooker with burners that don’t blow out all the time! 🙂

  10. Good luck with the building work! Always exciting and always messy 🙂 How about adding a camping stove or barbi to your repetorie?
    Oh and that’s from someone who uses the microwave to reheat her coffee….

    1. Misky says:

      Thanks, Claire, for the good wishes. We have a barbi but with this weather it wouldn’t be too pleasant. Snowing today.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

