How-To Stuff Pork Tenderloin with Prunes and Walnuts

Pork Tenderloin Stuffed with Walnuts and Prunes

PorkTend

This isn’t so much a recipe as inspiration. Sort of like if I can do this, trust me, so can you … if you want. This always looks impressive when sliced. Mr Misk always says, “Wow!” And it’s dead easy to do.

Method: Slice the tenderloin open, (it’s called Butterflying). Pretend that your sharp long-blade knife is a machine in a lumber mill that slices and rolls the bark off from an old cedar tree. Now, lay a sheet of cling film over the meat, and pound the tenderloin evenly thin. Next, chop up some walnuts and smoosh some prunes flat with your fingers. If the prunes aren’t smooshable, soak them in some dry sherry (or warm water, which is sort of boring) until softened. Drink the sherry, and then sprinkle the chopped nuts on the meat. Then put the tipsy smooshed prunes on the nuts. Roll the pork up tight into a long log, and tie it closed with cooking string.

Brown the tenderloin in an oven-proof pan, and then finish baking it in the oven at 190C/350-375F for 20-30 minutes. Test for doneness. Snip off the string, slice the pork at an angle, and serve with gravy, potatoes and two veg. Bon appetit.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I do have a few figs I could soak in port.. would that work? I love the simplicity and flavors in this one Misky:) xx

    1. Misky says:

      Sure, Barbara, why not! I’d love to hear how it goes, if you do try it. Thanks for reading this one and leaving a comment. 🙂

  2. Yummy, pork and prunes go so nicely together!

    1. Misky says:

      Absolutely, and they look pretty, too. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment, Lizzy.

  3. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky. I am on to this. I have a freezer full of port fillets. My neighbour gives them to me faster than we use them. She works at a small goods factory and they don’t ue the fillets. Lucky us. Do you use dried prunes or are they the ones you buy at the supermarket that have been semi rehydrated?

    1. Misky says:

      We only have one sort of prune here, and I suspect it’s the semi sort. They’re not dried like leather. You’re so lucky to have a supply of tenderloin. Sometimes we have to search for them or order them from a butcher.

  4. Joanna says:

    Pork tenderloin was one of my mother’s favourties, she used to cook them with mushrooms, sherry and cream and maybe a little onion. I suspect she lived on pork tenderloin… she would have enjoyed your drunk prunes enormously 🙂

    1. Misky says:

      That sounds delicious, Joanna. Sort of like mushroom gravy? Yummy!

  5. Glenda says:

    Hi Misky, we did this the other night and it was very tasty. Thanks for the inspiration. I am going to include a photo in my next IMK post with a kick back to you, of course:)

    1. Misky says:

      I’m glad you like it, Glenda, and any kick back is always welcome! 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

